Wednesday, 26 October 2016 »  Login
Movies » 127 Hours Movie Review
I am at

127 Hours Review

127 Hours
Deepa Garimella /
Can watch again
Good for kids
Good for dates
Wait to rent it
127 Hours is a lot like tofu. It's not a universally-loved genre, but it has its admiring audience. Also, those who don't admire it swing the other way - they'd likely despise it.

The film is the cinematic depiction of a real-life account of an ordeal that adventurer Aron Ralston goes through while being trapped in a canyon, and is adapted from his autobiography, Between A Rock And A Hard Place. It shows us Aron Ralston's traumatizing time in the canyon with his right arm trapped between a boulder and a wall of the canyon, and how he finally brings himself out of it.

No fairy tale this. It's the kind of story that revolves around one human being who is subjected to supremely agonizing circumstances, which he overcomes using survival tactics that are equally agonizing. It celebrates the strength of the human spirit over the worst of games that nature and chance can play with mankind.

Well, if you're one of those who love such thrillers, 127 Hours is far from being a letdown. As a movie, it's a taut thriller, cute at times as well, with a protagonist who is as lovable as he is brave. Aron uses his camera to record what he's going through, and this lends the narrative some delightful dry humour about his situation and about his wise insights on his own life. Plus, there are some splendid visuals of canyons to partake of.

Also, if you want to spend time marveling at Danny Boyle's directorial skills, there's plenty out there on display.

However, the flick changes from riveting to plain gross in just one scene, and if you're not up for reality this hard-hitting, it pretty much wipes out all the positive vibes you took from the movie up to that point. Unlike bringing about the heady, invincible feeling you usually get with many inspirational stories, this one leaves you feeling philosophical about how cruel life can be to some people. The question, then, is: what sort of movie experience are you looking for?

There definitely are people who'd laud that scene - the extremely gory climax (that, reportedly, had people fainting in theatres), that contains more attention to detail than you could ever ask for. This being the exact replay of what the real Aron went through to get himself out of the anguish he's in, it is rendered with the bone-crunching, nerve-numbing, tendon-severing pain that our protagonist goes through.

Don't get us wrong: it's an incredible story - one that you cannot be judgemental about, since it actually happened to someone (who's still an adventure enthusiast and delivers motivational speeches, by the way) - and 127 Hours is surely a well-made film. And no, it's not a tragedy.

The problem is, Boyle converts it into something that seems to focus only on the worst of the situation, and that only people with nerves of steel can watch. The result is a flick that will see most of its circulation happen within film club circles. And the Awards, of course.

Performances are immaculate, and the narrative and the cinematography is high on creative quality.

As for Rahman's much-touted work, there's some music, but it's not something that no one else could come up with for a high-tension drama like this one.

In sum, if this is your kind of thing, go watch 127 Hours by all means - and certainly with people who're adrenaline junkies and outdoor adventurers. But if you're not one for survival epics, skip it.
Share. Save. Connect.
127 Hours (english) reviews
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
1 - 10 OF 10 COMMENTS
Can watch again - Yes
Good for kids - No
Good for dates - Yes
Wait to rent it - No
pulihara on 31st Jan 2011, 10:38pm | Permalink
firstly, @admins, i didn't know "user ratings" was to rate the reviewer. now i know, thanks to siva! oh no, thanks to his defensiveness
secondly, deepa garimella, in my opinion, is a reviewer. and not a critic. in fact FAR from being one. not even qualified (i guess). reviewer decides suitability, critic judges art. (welcome to class 8)
lastly (sorry to have kept you waiting for this), my opinion on the movie: it's a f*ck brilliant story, it's a pretty good movie, i really liked it, and i've rated so.

@scriptwriter, i don't usually do this either :P

Pros: true story
Cons: true story
Sc13175 on 31st Jan 2011, 10:05pm | Permalink
This is getting no where because we are not discussing the movie itself(I know I started it). I
too agree to disagree. Just one last point. To be fair to Deepa, I have never seen her praising
gore(even in arundhati or simha). That is just her. She likes cute and we should know that
when reading her reviews. Should she not review a movie with gore as USP? I do not think so. She conveys the point from her perspective quite well and that should be enough. Iam sorry if I came across as personally attacking you. That was not at all my intention. Lets say we all have our personal opinions and so do the reviewers. Peace out.
Script Writer on 30th Jan 2011, 8:55pm | Permalink
I usually do not get into 'discussions' on the comments section, but this one had me go 'whoa'. First, I don't get what the major different between a rating of 7.0 and 6.5 is for Siva to get this riled up. Second, the movies Siva mentions are using violence as a pulp device. When a 'mass' hero bashes up millions of goons, we sit comfortably in the knowledge that it is all fiction. When real-life violence is portrayed, then things do get gory indeed.
Portuguese Man-of-War on 30th Jan 2011, 7:28pm | Permalink
@Siva: I think the reviewer is writing for who her audiences are, rather than any perception of what her audiences ought to be. Perhaps she thinks her audiences would enjoy Simha and Arundhati much more than they would 127 Hours. And perhaps many people who liked Simha and Arundhati would talk of 127 Hours as disparagingly as you talk of those movies.
Siva on 30th Jan 2011, 1:39am | Permalink
@Sc13175: I agree with you on several points. People flame Raja sen unreasonably, write hatemail to reviewers who disagree with them, true. Hey,even Roger Ebert makes mistakes,if you know what I mean ;)

Juvenile? comment tells more about me? Without getting back at you personally, let me say I am not a flamer. I actually wrote to Deepa praising her for a neat review of Prasthanam. You & I are not here bcoz we are 2 losers who dont have a life, but coz we like our movies.

I dont hate the reviewer for not liking the movie enough. I only wanted to highlight the hypocrisy or confusion in her thoughts. How can so much blood in Simha and the violent scenes in Arundhati not be repulsive and gross to her but one amputation scene be, which in fact doesnt show much, its the sound that fuels your imagination. If I can't get this point across to you, then let's agree to disagree. But atleast I made a movie buff not to miss out on a great one
Sc13175 on 29th Jan 2011, 9:57pm | Permalink
Yes, I can write something original but I thought your comments did not deserve much effort from my side.
I did not watch the movie. Just reacted to your comment. You liked the movie and recommend it to others and that's great. Thank you. But the moment you say a reviewer is dumb for not agreeing with you, it has one word in my book. Juvenile. I do not get it when people go on abusing deepa, raja sen, jeevi etc for the simple reason that they(the reviewers) do not agree with them. You love some movie and immediately go read all the reviews and get disappointed when others diss it(happens to me as well). But I stop at that. If possible I write a comment on why "I" liked the movie. By saying the reviewer is dumb for not appreciating a movie you liked tells more about you IMO. Iam sorry for the rant, but hey, I may watch the movie after all.
Siva on 29th Jan 2011, 8:41pm | Permalink
@Po-MoW : you make sense in your argument, but the reviewer has no idea what she is talking about. Film will end up in film club circles, really - for a budget of $18 mil, on limited release it has made $21 mil - is widely releasing this Friday in US and all over world. A min estimated gross of $ 100 mil and she thinks its a film club movie. Anybody could come up with that music? right, how did those idiots at the academy nominate Rahman for 2 oscars?

@Sc13175 : hey, that was a really funny one, only bright line in that dumb movie. Although, I wish you had something original to say.

Since both of you didn't rate the movie, am assuming you didnt watch. plz do, since you both sound like movie buffs.

Through my comment, I wished to highlight the hypocrisy of the reviewer where she is raving about murder-a-min movie ( Simha ), but a 45 seconds amputation scene is gross and makes the film unwatchable.

Is Samrat Sharma on vacation?
Sc13175 on 29th Jan 2011, 6:01am | Permalink
Portuguese Man-of-War on 28th Jan 2011, 2:26pm | Permalink
@Siva: I read Deepa's review, and found nothing in it deserving the comments you chose to make. What I read was a balanced and reasoned opinion, that aims to do what a review in any popular medium should - tell readers of all hue how likely they are to enjoy the movie.
Siva on 28th Jan 2011, 2:18am | Permalink
Firstly, fellow readers, great movie - if you miss it, its your loss

@Deepa ( reviewer ) - Thanks for deciding that your regular visitor doesnt have the stomach to see an inspiring story and experience a breathtaking visual masterpiece. In your opinion, Balakrishna killing over a hundred villains using all sorts of crude methods ( Simha, which you gave a 7/10 ) or Raviteja constantly bashing rowdies' heads ( Mirapakay, again a 7/10 ) are quite palatable to us, but an Oscar nominated true human story might not be.

You know what, you really dont have the maturity to review some movies. No disrespect, there are enough movies releasing every week at your i.q. level like Billa, Orange and Golimaar ( all 7/10 in your opinion ). Why dont you leave what you dont understand to the regular English movie reviewers on

Pros: James Franco, visuals, music and most importantly DANNY BOYLE
Cons: nothing I could see
LEAVE A COMMENT has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about 127 Hours!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
This page was tagged for
127 Hours english movie
127 Hours reviews
release date
James Franco, Kate Mara
theatres list
Follow on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.