Thursday, 23 March 2017 »  Login
in
»
Movies » Baba Movie Review
I am at

Baba Review

Smriti Kashyap / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
5.0
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
NA
NA
NA
NA
Suggestions
Can watch again
NA
Good for kids
NA
Good for dates
NA
Wait to rent it
NA
B for an A and a B for an A! BAAAAA-BAAAAAA!

The beedi surgically attached to his mouth, the shirts with the top hundred buttons missing, the expression of a cowboy who's just turned cowman... Rajnikant gets an intro that only befits a Rajinikant! Indeed, Baba lives up to all the hype that's been assiduously built over it - for about the first half an hour! What next? Oh sheesh - the tickets are being sold for nothing less than 100 bucks unless you booked them in 2001, so give 'em a break, will ya?


Scowling, snarling Beedi-man Baba is a vagrant sort who's an atheist despite the fact that his folks at home spend about two packets of agarbatti and three kgs of ghee everyday. Well, to you and me he may be an atheist, but to God, he's the loyal opposition. Anyway, when he's not roughing people up (he's a do-gooder, you see) or looking like something that could do with a dose of Dettol, he spouts all sorts of lines like "Gatham gatham" (the past is the past) and keeps doing that symbol thing (Baaaabaaaaa) with his scrawny hands. Basically, he's the sort who likes to leave clothes and weapons in a place that he can find easily.


The fun (or the lack of it) starts when Baba roughs up the son of the Deputy CM, thus pissing the latter off like nobody's business. The Deputy CM goes one step ahead and knocks down Baba's neighborhood. Baba just about gets ready to

whack the living daylights off that guy when his ma tells him to cut it out and act like a dog with a flea collar and a rabies injection. Baba obliges and doesn't get any more hyper.


In the meantime, Lady L'Amour Manisha Koirala tells Baba to piss off 'coz she thinks that he's ain't worth her time and lard. And at this moment when Baba's stock's hit lower than a snake's belly, he gets shown the WAY by a madman who leads him to the original Baba (all Shirdi Sai and Puttaparthi fans please sit down - you'll all get your turn), who grants him 6 wishes (or was it seven?) to prove to him that there indeed is a God and that mebbe it was high time that Baba cleaned up his act.

To test drive the wishes, Baba launches out, and in the bargain squanders about 4 of them. What he does with the rest of them forms about the crux of the flick, which goes on for the next 21,372 minutes.


Just when you thought you saw your grave yawning in boredom, the flick picks up, and then moodily drops all over again. And then for the final insult, after yellowing our fingers with popcorn, we are, like a pair of pants, let down in the second half.

Baba as a flick comes nowhere close to a brainstorm. At best it can be described as a light drizzle. Like they say, in theory there is no difference between theory and practice but in practice there is. Putting that axiom to use, the movie did have a good idea (the wishes part and all), but then, in true filmi style, someone botched it up beyond recognition.


Rajini is suspiciously untouched by age (I wish I could say the same about his hair) and remains the coolest. But he puts Hitler to shame with all that political propaganda in the flick! Clap, clap, clap, very impressive, Rajini, yeah! I'll remember to vote for you in the next polls!

But what's the deal with Manisha Koirala? She looks as if she's just about gonna trip over the cordless phone. After Company, this flick is an insult to her, and her expression looks like she's just flunked a blood test!

Anyway, as far as the flick goes, yeah, it'll murder some time... yeah, Rajini fans rejoice, he is and remains the hippest... yeah, we wish that they really had played down the hype..., and yeah, they can't measure the intelligence of this flick (the scales don't go that low!).
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
BABA SNAPSHOT
USER RATING
7.1
129 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
BABA USER REVIEWS
1 - 15 OF 19 COMMENTS  |  NEXT  |  LAST
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
7.1
129 USERS
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
NA
NA
NA
NA
Can watch again - NA
Good for kids - NA
Good for dates - NA
Wait to rent it - NA
Dipo Ramsamy on 11th Sep 2002, 2:09am | Permalink
This is a movie you can't expect; Alludu dacing with his Aunty, Lots of blood flowing in Rayalseema, A unfit Hero dances with two heroines. But shows why to beleive GOD. One has to decide whether good BABA or Tapori movies which makes our youth into Tapori!
RATING
10
Narshima on 23rd Aug 2002, 4:43am | Permalink
Rajini Rajini Rajini...nothing else in the movie. Not that bad.
RATING
8
James Bond on 21st Aug 2002, 4:16pm | Permalink
What else do we need when Rajinikanth is there in the film and i am not Die-Hard Fan of Rajini...
RATING
8
Mallik Mallik on 21st Aug 2002, 5:30am | Permalink
Hi,
Plz dont judge the movies of Chiru or Rajini , enjoy their action. They are not God's to get excellent stories everytime like a 'Basha' or 'Gangleader' or 'Challenge'. bye
RATING
4
Uma Reddy on 21st Aug 2002, 1:59am | Permalink
Good movie but 2nd half is lengthy. Good editing would have made the movie more interesting. Apna Andra public will encourage only Goonda movies, not goodd movies.So Baba may be a Flop.
RATING
10
A R on 20th Aug 2002, 11:03pm | Permalink
Baba was a great movie, but it can never come close to movies like Basha. Rajni's acting has lowered since Basha. Even in Padayappa he looked too old.
RATING
10
BaBa on 20th Aug 2002, 4:12pm | Permalink
the movie is something different
but the computer graphic makes the movie look stupid and senceless ,
cheers for RAJINI , GOUNDAMANI AND CO
BUT BUU for other actors
RATING
10
Nagesh Venkata on 20th Aug 2002, 12:53pm | Permalink
This is the worst film in the career of Rajni.One must bring some headach tablets and Zandubalm when go to movie.This movie helps the market of headach tablets and Zandubalm.The companies should say thank to
***********************************
SUPER
RAJNI
STAR
***********************************
RATING
2
Naveen on 20th Aug 2002, 2:36am | Permalink
What a bold Movie on the power of GOD. I think rajini reached a level of showing good path to people about living and politics. It sounds good for Tamilians. One have wait to see how our Telugu people take these.
RATING
10
Sridhar S on 19th Aug 2002, 5:30pm | Permalink

I wanted to know what this R-thing is all about that Tamilians rave about. I ensured I saw the film in the first weekend (Rajni would have shook hands with me for saying this!!!) The movie is a blast! Forget all the Jackie Chan magic, saintly howls and the graphic graphics, I enjoyed "Baba" to the bone. Great music, stylish performances, some entertaining comedy and terrific screenplay. Baba is better than Basha in message. But the movie could have been better without some hyperbolic sequences on Man and Superman.
RATING
8
GRKR on 19th Aug 2002, 5:24pm | Permalink
Overall the concept of the movie is good, but failed to convey the better.
RATING
6
Mahesh K on 19th Aug 2002, 1:22pm | Permalink
Hi 2 all , Rajini had tried Something different in this movie(Spiritualism), Why can't v accept the message wht he had delievered in this movie (Watching English movie with same special effects and Story ex-Lord of the rings)Its gr8 2 see this kind of movie in our own language, I am realy proud of rajini's BABA. But the lengthy in the 2nd half should be avoided. Any way Super Star Rules in BABA. I wish BABA 2 run Silver Jubliee
RATING
8
Ashok Raju on 19th Aug 2002, 1:00pm | Permalink
Superb Movie!! I don't know whats wrong with it. Maybe all you people expected him to deliver the romantic kisses and the political punches. Those who really have a brain will appreciate this splendid movie. (Swish)Gatham Gatham(Mudinchadhu Mudinjupochu)
RATING
10
Dilip on 19th Aug 2002, 5:09am | Permalink
This is about the worst crap I've ever seen in my life. I mean, rajini seems sooo out of place trying to deliver "messages" in his film. I long for the days of Billa - slam, bang, slap, the end. Thats what Rajini's movie should be all about. Instead he goes out on a limb trying to pass on some muddled new-age spiritual theory and botches it up royally!
RATING
2
Ramana . on 18th Aug 2002, 3:43am | Permalink
No chiru the great. Still BABA is a good movie, worth watching.
RATING
8
1 - 15 OF 19 COMMENTS  |  NEXT  |  LAST
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Baba!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
baba telugu moves
baba movie telugu
www.telugubabamovie.co.in
rajanikanthtelugusvish
babba movie telugu
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.