Tuesday, 11 December 2018 »  Login
in
»
Movies » Bharat Ane Nenu Movie Review
I am at

Bharat Ane Nenu Review

Bharat Ane Nenu
Swaroop Thotada / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
7.5
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
7.5
5.0
6.5
7.0
Suggestions
Can watch again
No
Good for kids
Yes
Good for dates
Yes
Wait to rent it
No
Mahesh Babu's forthright CM Bharath tucks his shirt in, sports shades and looks like a corporate hotshot. "What does 'poddugaale' mean?" he asks one of his subordinates as he listens to an old farmer's woes. This admittedly novice politician stumbles with his grasp of Telugu and Telugus.

And his jaw drops when he drives around Hyderabad and witnesses the Olympic-level stunts people pull off on roads just to get a few feet ahead of others. However, he quickly figures out how to domesticate these "animals of the jungle". Risking being perceived as a smug, condescending NRI that has the audacity to lecture our people to look at the Westerners and learn civilization, he levies penalties of the order of 25,000 rupees on traffic offenders, and somehow it doesn't dawn upon the police to collect higher bribes, and they end up being sincere.

Bharath Ane Nenu's plot is too uncomfortably similar to Kammula's Leader, a film with a bigger heart - and possibly more verisimilitude. And a CM film cannot just escape comparison with Shankar's landmark movie Oke Okkadu - again, not too flattering for BAN. Fortunately, the things it has going for it just about help it across the line.

Bharath (Mahesh Babu), the son of the Chief Minister (Sarath Kumar), resides in London, and lands in India after hearing of his father's demise. Varadarajulu (Prakash Raj), his father's best friend and the president of Navodaya Party, persuades Bharath to take the reigns and follow in his father's footsteps. Though initially reluctant, he caves in and wants just one thing: to set things straight. He starts with his nameplate in the office and goes as far as the CM flicks allow one to go. And that would be too far to take the film seriously.

Early on in the movie, we see his mother (Amani) teaching him the importance of keeping a promise, which the director builds his entire film on. However, the dramatic potential of a promise can be tapped into only with a strong conflict where a sacrifice is necessary. Here the script hammers on and on about the sacredness of the oath, but nowhere does it place the protagonist at a crossroads.

Indeed, the flawless hero's ideology is unparalleled and absolute, and the sanctimonious verve finds no challenging parallel, not even the practical compulsions of staying in power. Bharath addresses the subtle duress of Vardarajulu with sanguine élan, and often comes off as sanctimonious. What prevents his character from being a complete bore is how well Mahesh Babu brings a magnetism to it with his performance.

All its dramatic potential sliced off by its poor writing choices, the film plays off as a borderline fantasy that chronicles the triumphs of a perfect leader. This however has a lot of entertainment value, and that's where Koratala's core skills kick in. The movie does a pretty skillful job at masquerading as a realistic political drama, when it is nothing but a star-studded potboiler. This is achieved by dialogues devoid of rhyming and with simplicity in framing.

However, Koratala goes all Zack Snyder whenever Mahesh walks or steps down a helicopter or delivers a punch on a goon and switches to slo-mo. We see women going gaga over the CM's looks, and his bodyguards being constantly awestruck, and the script intends them to be audience's proxies. And they are. Mahesh's debonair looks and his suave attitude are the lifeblood of the film, and its principal selling point.

The duets are atrocious but the background score and theme song match the intensity of the film. Ravi K Chandran's cinematography is neat and effective. Kiara Advani's Vasumathi doesn't get many lines, but manages to emote well. The "love track" is perfunctory and silly initially, but is tied well to the story and leads to a very intense scene where Mahesh professes his love for her and laments the voyeuristic tactics of the media for defaming her. The audiences cheer for Mahesh as he vehemently bashes the media for their hypocrisy and poor morals. This becomes the defining scene of the movie, reflecting the current controversies the media is ensnared in.

Bharath Ane Nenu surely satisfies the fans of the star and reasonably entertains general audiences, but is not the explosive material which we have been awaiting from Mahesh. He proves again that he can take a film to the next level, but we still await one where he doesn't need to.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
BHARAT ANE NENU SNAPSHOT
Bharat Ane Nenu (telugu) reviews
USER RATING
5.7
3 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
  • Cast
    Mahesh Babu, Kiara Advani, Prakash Raj, R Sarathkumar, Rama Prabha
    1 user says this is wrong.
  • Music
    Devi Sri Prasad
  • Director
    Koratala Siva
  • Theatres
    Not screening currently in any theatres in Hyderabad.
TOP COMMENT
The Common Movie Goer on 27th Apr 2018, 4:58am | Permalink
Let me start off by saying how much of Mahesh maniac I was. I've said this on Fullhyd before (but I can't say it enough) - I've seen Pokiri 400+ times. That's all I did for one year. It would keep playing in the background and I would be studying, working, etc. I thought Mahesh was the best actor to ever exist. Period. I've done a 180 on that opinion now. I've seen actors get better and better, Mahesh seems to be regressing. Same stock smile, same monotonous dialogue delivery, same one-finger-temple scratch while trying to look contemplative. What happened to the Mahesh who was intense in Takkari Donga and very pokiri-ish in Pokiri?

This movie straight up sucked. It was grating on my nerves. I am all for hero worship. Hell, I even go to movies for some hero worshiping. But when the movie has to suggest to you through the rest of the cast that this scene or moment is for hero-worship, you know you've got problems. I don't expect realism in movies. I don't want any. In a way similar to Marvel movies. But I don't want a movie that's supposed to be realistic (or is masquerading as a realistic movie) to have over-the-top illogical scenes. The CM is making promises to his security guards that he is going to beat everyone up. And Ravi Shankar just accepts his supremacy in an instant? No seething anger, no disappointment, no thoughts of revenge? And why is the security even heeding to his senseless demands? You can't shoot people up for giggles, ya'll.

Kiara Advani was good. No doubt. But would the movie have been better served if all her scenes were cut out completely? I think, yes. Similar to Rangasthalam, she didn't serve much of a purpose except set up the media scene. Which was also grating, since it's unrealistic to expect corporate media companies to not think of the bottom line.

All in all, I am extremely happy that Mahesh had a hit. You need hits for all the technicians in the industry to be happy. And it was time Mahesh tasted success to get back into the top league. I just wish he would go back to making quality movies.
7
2
USER RATING
2.0
BHARAT ANE NENU USER REVIEWS
1 - 10 OF 10 COMMENTS
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
5.7
3 USERS
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
3.0
1.0
5.0
8.0
Can watch again - No
Good for kids - No
Good for dates - No
Wait to rent it - Yes
ra3830126 on 9th May 2018, 10:02am | Permalink
Hello ladies/gentlemen
Razack Hospital Searching ladies/men who are 100% healthy and want to sell kidney due to financial problem.
I am willing to pay $200,000 Usd for one kidney.
contact on whatsapp or email

Email:ra3830126@gmail.com
whatsapp:08095536788
Vara on 29th Apr 2018, 11:57am | Permalink
Yesterday as I watch the movie, I really wanted to leave by the time of Vasumati song but continued expecting something good ahead as the rating given here is 7.5. But beyond this point the movie changed to revenge drama rather than anything related to what seen before the song.

For me the film do not deserve more than 5, that too because of production quality and few emotional dialogues at the end.

Caution: Spoilers ahead

Few of my observations:
1) Sequence of incidents: Hero takes some decision (shouts at most of the time), Media news anchor clipping, and video bite of common people how the decision was good/bad. (Mostly the message of hero doing good was conveyed by media clippings rather than the audience perceive themselves)

2) I really didn’t understand why CM resigned when some allegations of his affair with heroine comes in news.

3) Common points between Sreemanthudu and BAN is
A) People running behind hero in slow motion (Roudys running behind cycle & People behind the Jeep)
B) Villain’s Den (Mamidi thota & Old theatre)
C) Hero leaves all his intentions with some silly reason (Hero leaves the village as his father cries and worries about his life in hospital seen & Hero resigns as there is some silly news in media)
RATING
5
Raghu M on 29th Apr 2018, 4:41am | Permalink
If you like MB, stay away from BAN. He has only one expression and monotonous dialogue diction throughout the movie, no matter whether he's expressing love, anger, frustration, surprise, pity, etc. After PK, MB is becoming another boring non-actor.
The director tried to copy his own "Srimanthudu" (except the story), and he did a bad job at that.
C'mon "pokiri", show your "khaleja" once again. C'mon "Nani", kaastha "dookudu" mallee penchu.
The Common Movie Goer on 27th Apr 2018, 4:58am | Permalink
Let me start off by saying how much of Mahesh maniac I was. I've said this on Fullhyd before (but I can't say it enough) - I've seen Pokiri 400+ times. That's all I did for one year. It would keep playing in the background and I would be studying, working, etc. I thought Mahesh was the best actor to ever exist. Period. I've done a 180 on that opinion now. I've seen actors get better and better, Mahesh seems to be regressing. Same stock smile, same monotonous dialogue delivery, same one-finger-temple scratch while trying to look contemplative. What happened to the Mahesh who was intense in Takkari Donga and very pokiri-ish in Pokiri?

This movie straight up sucked. It was grating on my nerves. I am all for hero worship. Hell, I even go to movies for some hero worshiping. But when the movie has to suggest to you through the rest of the cast that this scene or moment is for hero-worship, you know you've got problems. I don't expect realism in movies. I don't want any. In a way similar to Marvel movies. But I don't want a movie that's supposed to be realistic (or is masquerading as a realistic movie) to have over-the-top illogical scenes. The CM is making promises to his security guards that he is going to beat everyone up. And Ravi Shankar just accepts his supremacy in an instant? No seething anger, no disappointment, no thoughts of revenge? And why is the security even heeding to his senseless demands? You can't shoot people up for giggles, ya'll.

Kiara Advani was good. No doubt. But would the movie have been better served if all her scenes were cut out completely? I think, yes. Similar to Rangasthalam, she didn't serve much of a purpose except set up the media scene. Which was also grating, since it's unrealistic to expect corporate media companies to not think of the bottom line.

All in all, I am extremely happy that Mahesh had a hit. You need hits for all the technicians in the industry to be happy. And it was time Mahesh tasted success to get back into the top league. I just wish he would go back to making quality movies.
RATING
2
Ramana on 29th Apr 2018, 1:11pm | Permalink
As if he had quality movies in the past.
raju on 8th Jun 2018, 1:04pm | Permalink
Yes, all recent Mahesh movies are trash
Jyothi on 26th Apr 2018, 8:26pm | Permalink
The movie started well, but then went awry..

Life is like a box of chocolates; you never know what you are gonna get - the famous quote from Forest Gump never made more sense to me until I started watching this movie -Bharat Ane Nenu.

When I took my first bite at it, it seemed to have a genuine texture that was chocolate’y and chewy and started melting in my mouth. Enough about Milky Way and coming to the movie, it started with utterly good intentions. A late CM’s son, suddenly made CM as a twist of fate, is on a journey to reform the irresponsible and money hungry folks - public and leaders alike. What challenges he faces forms the rest of the story. Sounds familiar? Leader? Youngistan? Even a bit of Oke Okkadu? Familiar taste is good when it comes to chocolates, but in case of movie experience - not so much. There is nothing original about it but credit where it’s due, it definitely asks questions that need to be asked and gets one to think about the current corrupt political situation.

Encouraged by the pleasant experience of the first bite, I grabbed another chocolate. This however had a pungent minty flavor that wanted to be fresh, ended up being nothing but. The second half ended up being a fan fiction of/by/for Prince Mahesh’s fans. The scenes involving age old hero-worship/elevation, unnecessary fights just to demonstrate what a ‘man’ he is - beg to be questioned. The writer/director are better off staying true to the story, than trying to please the crowds.

Maheshbabu is good at one thing he does well - looking good that is. His character is very well defined and has its heart in the right place. Mahesh does decently well in spite of his questionable emoting skills. The director handles this well and maximizes the impact in a few emotional scenes.

Prakash Raj has the meatiest role next to Mahesh and he doesn’t disappoint either. Rest of the cast deliver as needed. Songs are almost forgettable. The jaatara song was very well choreographed and performed and the movie never stops playing ‘Bharat and Nenu..’ in the background, so couldn’t forget it as much as I wanted to.

There is so much talk about keeping promises all through the movie. What about the promise that a movie makes to its audience- to entertain or educate or narrate or make them feel something strong? Of course other than the strong sense of hatred towards the movie (errr Bhramotsavam grrrr Agnyaatavaasi). Aren’t movie makers expected to atleast try to keep that promise?

This is NOT a bad movie by any means, it’s not a classic either. It’s an also-played kind of a movie. What it does well is create social awareness and poses the right questions. If only they were taken seriously.

Now I cast away that second chocolate and am eager to go try a third one! Go get your box folks! Never know what you are gonna find next. Make your own experience!!!
Josh on 24th Apr 2018, 11:59am | Permalink
WhatsApp conversation with my wife during the intermission.

Josh : Good that you didn't come.
J : Super regressive movie.
Spouse : ???? damn
S : Then good, yep
J : There's a thatha here with two early twenties grandkids.
J : He's deeply upset. Senile, I guess. But he's upset that the grandkids are watching a film like this. Keeps telling them this is all bogus and they shouldn't believe it.
S : ??????????
S : Ayyo. Poor old man.
J : They say they'll leave at 9:30. He says we'll leave at nine.
S : Hmm.. Is it a good movie? Accommodating your tolerances?
J : CM dies. CM's foreign brought up son becomes CM. Nepotism.
J : CM lays heavy fines on traffic rule breaking people. Like twenty k and all. Dictatorship.
J : And then fights corrupt politicians. Benevolent dictatorship.
S : ???? I see.
S : Just this summary of a foreign brought up son becoming a CM.. I can think of a good satire kinda movie.
J : I wish it was that film.


J : Cadini. It's not just about winning the game. It's also about winning the heart.
S : Next will be lux cosy :D
J : No, Oxemberg and their loony looking man.
S : Hehe


J : Anyway, unbelievably regressive film. It just became a mass film with the politicians all being rowdy folks.
J : I hope I'll enjoy the mass film.
J : Virat is now selling Manyavar.


Thatha won at annoying his grandkids and made them all leave early. I can't tell if he's most senile or the most sensible of all the viewers.
Kumar on 27th Apr 2018, 7:44am | Permalink
CM dies?? Really?? Why?? Please mention Spoiler Alert for God's sake
Josh on 27th Apr 2018, 9:49am | Permalink
Now, if you'll oblige me and look the the last two words of the first sentence of the fourth paragraph of this review, you'll find the words "Father's demise". So, as you may have grasped, Bharat is made CM after his father's death. That father, incidentally, was the CM before Bharat is anointed. And that is just as well because it would be a far dumber film if the son of a bank employee or a Kirana store owner was made CM because his dad died.
TJ Reddy on 24th Apr 2018, 7:14pm | Permalink
I'm just happy I'm not the one watching those god-awful Cadini ads anymore. God Damn those ads and that bullshit horse logo.

He has that thing on his suit and his car and I'm sure it is his and her tramp stamp too. Lol.
Josh on 24th Apr 2018, 9:01pm | Permalink
Speaking of interval ads, I'm moving to Chennai this week. Bracing myself for the Samudrika party and thanganagai maaligai ads.
Josh on 24th Apr 2018, 9:02pm | Permalink
Sigh.. saamudrika pattu* can't believe I'm doing a comment to correct that.
Hari on 25th Apr 2018, 2:09am | Permalink
FHD site developers. How hard is it to add an edit button??
Narasimha Bhupala on 23rd Apr 2018, 5:42pm | Permalink
Ever since the film got released, was eagerly awaiting Fullhyd's review, a bit curious I can say (as I am a good admirer of Mahesh, okay call me a fan), and was surprised to see your review, as its already been months I have seen you reviewing, and as always you never fail in keeping up our(okay mine) expectations :)

And his jaw drops when he drives around Hyderabad and witnesses the Olympic-level stunts people pull off on roads just to get a few feet ahead of others.


Olympic-level stunts- and that's what I personally expect from you, a bit of wit, however you have exquisitely drafted the review :) Good to see you back...

PS: It's not 'Poddugaale', it's 'poddugookaka' :)
Swaroop Thotada on 24th Apr 2018, 8:01pm | Permalink
Thanks dude :)
Kanye on 23rd Apr 2018, 9:25am | Permalink
I’ve never seen a movie that can be so perfectly described as “good”. There wasn’t particularly bad about it but at the same time there was nothing particularly great about it either. There were times I would expect a bone chilling sequence or dialogue that would set my pulse racing, but it just ended in mediocrity.

The only reason this film is faring well is because of Mahesh. He brought charm to the movie that conceals the mediocrity and makes it look better than it really is. I have to say I was impressed by Prakash Raj and Rao Ramesh’s performances. They were natural and appealing but what else is new. Kiara is a natural and performed well but is totally unimportant to the plot other than for that one sequence where Mahesh blasts the media for being hypocritical.

Being a Mahesh fan, I hope that his future projects with Vamsi Paidapalli, Sandeep Vanga, and Sukumar are more than just “good.”
Portuguese Man-of-War on 23rd Apr 2018, 8:31am | Permalink
"He proves again that he can take a film to the next level, but still await one where he doesn't need to." - good one, Swaroop :)
Swaroop Thotada on 23rd Apr 2018, 10:18am | Permalink
Thank you :)
Hari on 23rd Apr 2018, 6:31am | Permalink
"And that would be too far to take the film seriously"

Ha, that's pretty good Swaroop. Good to see you back :)

-Hari.
Swaroop Thotada on 23rd Apr 2018, 10:17am | Permalink
Than you Hari. Yes, feels good to be back.
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Bharat Ane Nenu!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
bharathanenenutelugumovie
Bharat Ane Nenu telugu movie
Bharat Ane Nenu reviews
release date
Mahesh Babu, Kiara Advani
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.