Thursday, 27 October 2016 »  Login
Movies » Eedo Rakam Aado Rakam Movie Review
I am at

Eedo Rakam Aado Rakam Review

Eedo Rakam Aado Rakam
Josh /
Can watch again
Good for kids
Good for dates
Wait to rent it
Farcical comedy, as a genre, is an artefact once perfected by Telugu cinema. Jandhyala's movies certainly had farcical characters even if the plot showed a semblance of sense. From there, things got even more exaggerated (which is welcome in a farce), and we started watching films with hyperbolic plots involving a man pretending to be a woman for the sake of accommodation (Chitram Bhalare Vichitram), a man whose lifestyle and passion were small loans (Appula Apparao), and a pair of twins who not only looked alike but also compulsively moved alike when in proximity (Hello Brother).

These movies were all hits. To this day, you can't help feeling tickled about these scenes (Brahmanandam is an absolute riot in each of the above-mentioned movies). Yet, the Telugu farce from that zenith somehow moved to a region of underwritten scripts, spiritless parodies and half-baked jokes (some hits and mostly misses). The farce, it now appears, is the filmmaking rather than the film itself.

Eedo Rakam Aado Rakam (ERAR) is a farce which doesn't even compare to the earlier films, but is still satisfying given the context of contemporary Telugu comedies. The film is much of the same when it comes to execution. G Nageswara Reddy gives it a very straightforward treatment and almost makes you feel you're back in the nineties. The performances are exactly what you'd expect. Vishnu and Raj Tarun are pretty good, Badhoria and Patel try, Abhimanyu Singh has no work up north, Ravi Babu and Satya Krishnan are dependably funny, Posani is wonderful, and Rajendra Prasad is exquisite.

The music and the production values are again exactly what you'd expect. Like in any other Manchu film, there's a certain quality which isn't bad but not memorable. Despite all these departments being exactly what you'd expect, Eedo Rakam Aado Rakam manages to be much better than what you'd expect. And that has entirely to do with the plot and the screenplay.

Arjun (Vishnu) and Ashwin (Raj Tarun), like other self-respecting Telugu heroes, are jobless and proud of it. Arjun's lady love Neelaveni (Sonarika Bhadoria) and her brother have this strange requirement that her husband has got to be an orphan. In a twisted turn of events, Arjun gets married to her under the pretense of being an orphan although he has a father (Rajendra Prasad), brother (Ravi Babu) and sister-in-law (Satya Krishnan).

A day after the wedding, the couple chooses to move to a rented house, and unbeknownst to Arjun, Neelaveni pays the advance to stay in the top floor of a magnificent villa owned by an advocate who stays in the ground floor with his family. The soup thickens when the said advocate happens to be Arjun's father dearest, and the villa is his own home. Now Arjun endeavours to keep the oblivious family and the oblivious wife as oblivious as possible all while staying in the same house. For this he enlists the services of his dear friend Ashwin.

It isn't even a devilishly intelligent plot. It's just better than what you're used to. The simple fact that someone put in an ounce of creative thought into this makes it so much superior to the tired rehashed unfunny material you come across regularly. The lines are often funny and will make you chuckle - however, it is the complications meted out to the characters that are riproaringly hilarious. As each sub-plot pans out you might find yourself laughing out loud or watching yourself to avoid laughing out loud (the jokes aren't entirely clean).

Making use of this juice in the plot are the actors. Rajendra Prasad is back in the genre that raised him, and it is so satisfying to watch him give an effortless and jolly performance. Like we said, the execution is tepid, and so you notice a number of loopholes in the proceedings, but you don't really care when you have good actors taking care of these matters - they can suck you into an empty stage and make you invest. As Prasad and Posani are superbly aided by the leads and a host of other comic actors, you'll find that Eedo Rakam Aado Rakam is pretty close to what you hoped it would be.
Share. Save. Connect.
Eedo Rakam Aado Rakam (telugu) reviews
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
  • Cast
    Vishnu Manchu, Raj Tarun, Rajendra Prasad, Sonarika Bhadoria, Heebah Patel, Satya Krishnan, Ravi Babu, Posani Krishna Murali
  • Music
    Sai Karthik
  • Director
    G. Nageswara Reddy
  • Theatres
    Not screening currently in any theatres in Hyderabad.
Can watch again - NA
Good for kids - NA
Good for dates - NA
Wait to rent it - NA
Jwalakaumudi on 26th Apr 2016, 2:04pm | Permalink
That conversation was quite sometime ago. By the way, I do not know if you meant it that way, but I was not trying to say that we ought to tell people what to like and what not to. Like you've eloquently explained to JayZ, it is a perspective, that's all.

But Balayya or Chiranjeevi doing these kind of movies is something that does not surprise me at all! That is how desperate they are. These are actors with some good movies in their kitty. Can you imagine anyone else in Aditya 369, Bhairavadveepam or Mangamma gari manavadu? Balayya had a charm to his acting persona that he refused to accept age. Now, that is not new. However, he decided to take the violent path of heroism and because of the age gap between his heroine and himself, their love (or whatever you wish to call it) always looks incestuous.

Balayya, as long as he was in a good director's hands, delivered well. Watch out for Saatakarni that Krishh is making with him. I bet, we will wonder if it was the same guy who did all these shitty movies just to reach the number 100.

And also Josh, I still say that reviewers do have to be opinionated and hold a bit of social responsibility in delivering their reviews. All this because in this country movies are not just timepass. They seem to be modifying and creating future directions for societies and the minds of young adults who make up those.

Like someone said, it is not enough to say that he shuddered watching the rape scene in Sarainodu. The reviewer should have just ripped apart the whole bloody notion of glorifying horror like that. This is where a bit of social responsibility comes in.

?????? ?????????? ????? ??????????? ??????? ????.
tangirags on 26th Apr 2016, 2:05pm | Permalink
Telugu script at the end got screwed up!! Never mind!
Kanye on 17th Apr 2016, 3:26am | Permalink
Loved your crack at "other self respecting Telugu heroes."
Josh on 19th Apr 2016, 5:56pm | Permalink
Thanks, Kanye. Let me ask you a question. What's your favourite film in the last two years (any language)? And can you also tell us why?
Kanye on 20th Apr 2016, 8:03pm | Permalink
The movies that truly impressed me were Interstellar and the Martian. They were actually well thought out and well-executed films which I found amazing. I am a true fanboy at heart so I loved everything Marvel dished out and also the new Star Wars.
Coming to TFI, I loved Oopiri (I think I've said that) and Bahubali, but among the lower budget movies I think Asura was the best.
Jayz on 16th Apr 2016, 3:41pm | Permalink
In a recent Balayya movie,he praises the beauty and greatness of India in one scene and in the next scene is seen dancing with his lady love in Bangkok or Kuala Lampur.....isnt it hypocritical??Mr Josh??
Josh on 19th Apr 2016, 5:55pm | Permalink
It is of course hypocritical, Jayz. And we've already gone through a question on Balayya's hypocrisy.

I would like to bring it to your attention that our Q&A session is steadily heading towards a rant against the questionable things in Telugu cinema. And I have a small problem with that.

I spent years ranting about these things. I complained and complained and realised one simple fact - ranting is cathartic but doesn't help otherwise.

That is when I took a while to understand why the status quo has come to be. Why are these films working and why aren't some others working? This understanding of society, films, and their interdependence taught me that there's always a reason to why things are the way they are. People have come to like these films. And to tell them that they ought not to is just not done (something I brought up in my conversation with Jwalakaumudi as well).

So what I try to do instead of complaining about what is problematic is to praise and promote what I think is good. I still trash a case of poor film making because it is a film's top duty to achieve its aspirations for itself and I'll point it out when it fails to do so.

But when it comes to the question of value systems and tastes, we're in more complicated terrain. I learnt to respect people's tastes for what they are. Not because they are right or wrong but because I can't develop a holier-than-thou attitude when I'm communicating with other people. There are bound to be other people who find my tastes questionable and they'll argue into the night on why I need to stop liking some thing. That is painful to deal with as a viewer. So, as a reviewer, I respect your taste and maybe you'll respect my opinion when it matters.

To understand why things are the way they are is very useful. It gives you perspective. It lets you engage better with the folks around you. Which is what I was hoping to do with these discussions of ours. I share what I think it is happening and maybe someone else will share their perspective. And why do we do this? Not because it'll change Telugu cinema but because knowledge is a good thing to have. Particularly, knowledge of things that trouble us.

It is clear as day that Balayya is a big star because he is the son of Sr.NTR, and his legions of fans also belong the dense network of a particular caste. So a good part of his stardom is seeded in nepotism and casteism. And that is a society thing. Understanding that pushes me towards focusing on the more pertinent aspects of the problem (I have no solutions - except education) and after that I don't see why I have to spend time on the films when there are more pressing issues to be discussed.

Suppose I tell a person who liked a Balayya film that they ought not to like it. Let's assume there's a hierarchy of good films. Let's assume these ratings tell us that one movie is better than another (it doesn't - I approach ratings as an evaluation in a niche, I don't compare across niches). Then someone else is going to ask me what I like. Say, to protect my ego, I tell them that I like non-Indian films. I liked that Indonesian action film that I watched two weeks back - The Raid Redemption.

They'll tell me that I should like Spotlight better because it won the Oscar. Say I reply that I liked Bridge of Spies better, someone else will tell me I shouldn't waste my time with these mainstream films with A-list stars. They say I should watch Ray, Kurosawa, and Ingrid Bergman. Then someone else will say I have to like Terrence Mallick. Meanwhile, our Balayya fan who looked up all these films is going to be suspicious of our sanity because he just can't see what the fuss is about in existentialist dramas when he is more worried about employment, status, and sex.

So I don't tell him that stuff. I just try to understand why he likes Balayya.
Swaroop Thotada on 21st Apr 2016, 9:00pm | Permalink
You mean Ingmar Bergman?
Josh on 21st Apr 2016, 9:34pm | Permalink
Oops! Yes, Ingmar. I have never watched any of his stuff. Nor Terrence Mallick's. Sigh.. My bucket list is long.
Swaroop Thotada on 22nd Apr 2016, 12:58pm | Permalink
I watched his "Persona" and "Seventh Seal". I liked Persona, but loved "Seventh Seal". Would say its one of the best films ever made. But no, I am not an art film buff. As a guy who lists "Hit man"(Timothy Olyphant's) as one of his favorite films(Please don't laugh.), I can say not all art films are boring.
JayZ on 19th Apr 2016, 11:37pm | Permalink
Mr Josh....I am actually a bit new to Telugu cinema....I have been watching them since 5—6 years...and of all the movies i watched,be it Tamil,Hindi,English and a few foreign films,I found Telugu movies very very weird and they left me perplexed.....especially Balayya and Chiru movies,where they are worshipped as that weirdness steadily became anger when I saw them abuse women in the name of courtship and objectify them to no end.Many of my friends gave me insensitive answers when I raised the sane questions,the most common being women deserve it as they " overact" so i came on to this forum and stumbled upon you, who i felt has a broad minded view on cinema....thats why i ask you all these questions....they may look like rants but they are still curious questions,Mr Josh
Jordan on 28th Apr 2016, 5:43am | Permalink
I'm quite sure you're mistaken in thinking that this is something that only happens in Telugu films. All of those things happen all across Indian cinema.
Josh on 20th Apr 2016, 10:57am | Permalink
I do understand, JayZ. My point was let's not stray into the ranting realm in a dialogue. I certainly have nothing against a rant in a monologue. You find quite some well worded rants in our comments sections and you do feel for that person. So, sure, let's rant. But when in a dialogue, let's communicate better is all I'm saying.

Now you've made me curious. You're new to Telugu cinema? How come?
JayZ on 20th Apr 2016, 2:49pm | Permalink
I am not that new...eight years old thats all
JayZ on 20th Apr 2016, 2:48pm | Permalink
I grew up in Bengaluru...and my dad used to watch a lot of English and Hindi films...I used to do that too....I came to Hyderabad in 2008 and only then I started watching telugu films...i saw only big blockbuster telugu movies earlier but after 2008 i started watching every big,small,hit,flop of tollywood.....and i used to see the movies with my friends, and most of them were fans of some actor or the other.Its only through them i got to know about a lot of things bad about tollywood( which they found was good) with the help of youtube and other sites, i watched a lot of telugu films and became very critical about them...
JayZ on 19th Apr 2016, 11:30pm | Permalink
My next q will be on specific directors,Mr Josh....
Kanye on 17th Apr 2016, 3:28am | Permalink
Since the question was directed at Josh, I won't take it.
But if I am allowed the luxury of a question myself, Jayz, what is your favorite Jay Z song? ;)
Jayz on 17th Apr 2016, 8:09am | Permalink
Numb/encore.....linkin park ft jayz
LEAVE A COMMENT has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Eedo Rakam Aado Rakam!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
This page was tagged for
Eedo Rakam Aado Rakam telugu movie
Eedo Rakam Aado Rakam reviews
release date
Vishnu Manchu, Raj Tarun
theatres list
Follow on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.