Friday, 28 October 2016 »  Login
Movies » Govindudu Andarivadele Movie Review
I am at

Govindudu Andarivadele Review

Govindudu Andarivadele
Ravi Kandala /
Can watch again
Good for kids
Good for dates
Wait to rent it
We Indians are an emotional lot. One person who will vouch for this is Ekta Kapoor - after all, she's manipulated our emotions successfully for more than a decade now and has made enough money to allow her to manipulate our emotions for the next couple of decades.

The other person who would agree is Krishna Vamsi. The director made one blockbuster family entertainer, Ninne Pelladutha, which showcased a joint family in an urban setting, and a decent grosser Chandamama, which showcased a joint family in a rural setting. He's been doing various spins on the same formula for the last few years but has not met with much success.

He now returns with what sounded like a gamble to most when the movie was launched. Attempting a family entertainer with Ram Charan, a hero known for his one-note acting abilities and masala entertainers, is no less heroic than taking on Rajinikanth and Chuck Norris together. That he pulls off a watchable entertainer speaks volumes for the difference between a movie with no script at all and a movie that has a coherent script.

Govindudu Andari Vaadele has Ram Charan playing the role of Abhiram. He lives in London with his father Chandrasekhar Rao (Rahman) and sister. One fine day, a professional disappointment leads to his father revealing his past to Abhi.

The past features Balaraju (Prakash Raj), Chandrasekhar's father, who loves his village, and makes Chandrasekhar a doctor and builds a hospital for him in the hope that he will settle in the village and run the hospital. Chandrasekhar however has other ideas, and ends up settling in London against his father's wishes.

Abhi understands that his Dad wants to go back to his village, and immediately sets out to India to mend fences. How he manages to win over his grandfather and reunites the family forms the remaining tale.

The film's plot is quite predictable, but Krishna Vamsi manages to weave a fine screenplay that leaves very little scope for boredom or drag. The emotions in the movie are not thrust upon you either, and will surely leave many in tears. He's also managed to extract superb performances from most of his cast. Notice how we say most.

We say most because Ram Charan still does not manage to impress us. He goes through the movie with his limited repertoire of expressions - maybe a Rajamouli is needed to bring out the best in him again. Again, it might also be because most of his scenes are with Prakash Raj. The veteran does such a fine job that everyone else around him pales in comparison. The others, including Jayasudha, Kota Srinivasa Rao and Rao Ramesh are all adequate, and fit well into the roles.

Yuvan Shankar Raja's songs play out well on screen thanks to Krishna Vamsi's picturisation, but are a disappointment when heard alone. He does a stellar job with the BGM and re-recording, though. Sameer Reddy's frames are an asset to the movie, and the visuals are consistently brilliant, be it London or the countryside. Bandla Ganesh has spent a lot on the movie, and it shows on screen.

Govindudu Andari Vadele has been released at the right time, and is sure to woo the family audiences in the upcoming holidays. If you are the emotional kind that likes being moved to tears while watching a movie, this is for you.
Share. Save. Connect.
Govindudu Andarivadele (telugu) reviews
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
  • Cast
    Ram Charan, Kajal Aggarwal, Srikanth, Kamalinee Mukherjee, Prakash Raj, Jayasudha, Pragathi, Rahman, Adarsh Balakrishna, Vennela Kishore, Harsha Chemudu
    6 users say this is wrong.
  • Music
    Yuvan Shankar Raja
    4 users say this is wrong.
  • Director
    Krishna Vamsi
    4 users say this is wrong.
  • Theatres
    Not screening currently in any theatres in Hyderabad.
    4 users say this is wrong.
rundader on 10th Oct 2014, 2:13am | Permalink
come on!! you credibility is at stake this wasn't the way this website used to function earlier. it does't deserve anything beyond 5.5. once again reviewer couldn't justify. utterly disappointed

Pros: character artists performance
1 - 11 OF 11 COMMENTS
Can watch again - NA
Good for kids - NA
Good for dates - NA
Wait to rent it - NA
Sri Ram on 11th Oct 2014, 12:09pm | Permalink
First half was Very boring & Second half was only little boring. Thats the whole of this movie
rundader on 10th Oct 2014, 2:13am | Permalink
come on!! you credibility is at stake this wasn't the way this website used to function earlier. it does't deserve anything beyond 5.5. once again reviewer couldn't justify. utterly disappointed

Pros: character artists performance
TANIA on 7th Oct 2014, 11:14pm | Permalink
i wonder how did Loukyam get 4 Haider got 6.5 and this crap 7 ??
funkycrsipy on 6th Oct 2014, 9:52pm | Permalink
I had been great fan and ardent follower of fullhyd. reviews for past many years to such an extent that I used to review here and blindly decide whether to watch a particular movie or not. Same thing happened with this GAV movie, read reviews and ratings here and found myself in the theater for evening show on
the same day. I have to say, I am bitterly disappointed that even fullhyd. reviews started becoming commercial with no genuineness in it.

7 star for performances, seriously?? Except for Prakash raj and jayasudha who were avg. performances, all other actors bored us to death. Not to say they are bad actors but there was zero scope for it in the story.
7 stars for script?? I am still trying to figure out where is the script in this. Mishmash of 10 other movies and with pathetic dialogue writing..
5 stars for Music/Soundtrack.........agree on this.
8 stars for visuals............agree on this.

I also agree on the comment that Charan has a long way to go in enacting romantic and emoting scenes, not his cup of tea in any form. He failed in this aspect in all his movies except for Magadheera and I am also certain that Rajamouli kind of director is needed to make him look good performing in these scenes.

I am pretty disappointed with the overall 7 star rating given here for a movie which has no proper story, no engaging script, poor acting by most actors, heroines used for just skin shows, zero comedy, average music, etc among many other negatives to show for it. Only positive is just visuals to show which any one can present if 50-60 crores are splashed, it doesn't require skill of krishna vamshi for it. I think its reality check time for me to not rely on reviews
here blindly going forward....
I hate tolly on 4th Oct 2014, 9:43pm | Permalink
U give this piece of crap 7 and give an epic like Haider 6.5...nice fullhyd....u ppl can't even review...only thing u do is find some fancy words in the dictionary and pass off like sophisticated "hatke" reviewers
funkycrsipy on 6th Oct 2014, 9:57pm | Permalink
Completely agree. If this movie deserves 7 stars, then movies like Haider should get 10 out of 10, if reviews are purely based on following 4 parameters.
Movies on 4th Oct 2014, 9:28am | Permalink
It is a whole shit movie, please do not watch and get headache. It is senseless movie. Heroin falls in love with this hero only because he is her bava.
Usualsuspect on 4th Oct 2014, 1:35am | Permalink
I used to like Fullhyd reviews especially Deepa Garimellas.
These days the reviews seem to be biased hero worshipping types and not candid views.Especially AKD and this movie...its really saddening to see this.The very pertinent point raised by a user can the reviewer not menation at all?
How can a movie be rated 7 with such disgusting scenes.
We read reviews not for biased eulogies but for candid opinions.
Hope fullhyd reads this and brings back the glorious unbiased reviewers back.
funkycrsipy on 6th Oct 2014, 10:15pm | Permalink
Agree.....where did she go? Used to be one of very few Bang on kind of reviewers....
Kritika Deval's reviews are pretty good and accurate too, though she reviews only Hindi movies....
Usualsuspect on 4th Oct 2014, 1:37am | Permalink
Typing on ipad sucks sometimes
RAJ ESH on 2nd Oct 2014, 8:49pm | Permalink
bava .. maradalitho romance le bro vodiley....
bang bang not good on 2nd Oct 2014, 2:44pm | Permalink
Nice movie
Portuguese Man-of-War on 2nd Oct 2014, 9:57am | Permalink
It is surprising that the review does not make any mention of the heroine (Kajal), and of the treatment of her by the hero, which is a serious ethical lapse, and which would land him in jail by contemporary Indian laws.

The film shows Charan blackmailing Kajal into kissing and (tightly) hugging him by threatening to show photos of her dancing in a pub to her father otherwise.

He does not blackmail her into running errands for him or showing gestures of respect for him (which would also be bad). He blackmails her into granting a variant of sexual favours, involving serious physical contact.

That is something villians do - shoot someone without their knowledge or permission when they are drunk, and then blackmail them later into sexual gratification. It is a crime punishable by years in jail now. I do not know what Krishna Vamsi was smoking, and what Charan was thinking.

Given that India is a society in which 99% of people do not think for themselves, and that they specifically ape popular heroes, what just happened is that Charan has perhaps spawned a huge bunch of people who will now find it morally acceptable to shoot women unknown to them, and then blackmail them for at least kisses and tight hugs, and likely more.

Clearly, this reviewer (and perhaps many others) did not think that aspect of the script warranted a mention, either. That shows where the conversion actually starts - we are a society where even the articulate ones with privileged access to mass media do not consider that a serious ethical violation any more.
I hate tolly on 4th Oct 2014, 9:54pm | Permalink
Completely agree with u...this krishna vamsi is s prick with double Rakhee he preached about respecting women and then he depicted the heroines as sex symbols......and in this movie also kajal played a glorified hooker....and for the love of god why do these films promote consanguinity.....bava maradalu marriage is dangerous to the baby....and movies must be a medium to denounce them and not promote them...a lot of illiterate ppl see film heros as their real life heroes and films must be a medium to spread this..
Rama on 2nd Oct 2014, 7:12pm | Permalink
Sir, I really like your analysis and agree with your views. I didn't see this movie and am not going to. I don't understand how irresponsible the film industry is in depicting stuff like this given the state of society now.
To show that an educated smart girl would rather trade sexual favors with a black mailer than go to her parents and confess to her indiscretions is the height of stupidity. Basically the lesson to movie viewers is to hide one wrong do some more. Then make a movie of that theme instead. Don't make it oh so romantic the girl will fall in love with her black mailer just because he is hero of the movie.
None of the movie reviews I read of thid movie called out on this utterly ridiculous message the movie gave.
And the nerve of the directors and heroes. After putting their heroines in shortest shorts, drenching them in wet saree's and exploiting to max turn around and preach to her moral values of adarsha bharata nari. Thanks for calling out on the movie. My hats off to you.
Romantic on 2nd Oct 2014, 1:48pm | Permalink
did Kajal like the playful romance of the hero or not? U guys need some lessons in romance, may be. :)
funkycrsipy on 6th Oct 2014, 9:49pm | Permalink
Really?? Kissing him in drunk mode, getting blackmailed by hero to do things like kissing him, to let him grab her hip, to show him her nudity......If this is your meaning of romance, thank god, I am not romantic....
Portuguese Man-of-War on 2nd Oct 2014, 2:01pm | Permalink
Did she? You need to see the movie, maybe :).

And you are missing the point. If the movie showed Kajal liking it (which it doesn't), then it would be even worse for all young women out there.

And what you call "romance" is referred to as "sexual harassment".
usualsuspect on 2nd Oct 2014, 11:35am | Permalink
Completely agree with you.
Looks like in this movie Ram Charan is playing the role of villain in Drushyam movie.
srr on 2nd Oct 2014, 12:06am | Permalink
You gave 3 fives and one 2 .Then finally rated 7?? on 2nd Oct 2014, 9:45am | Permalink
@SRR: That was a technical error - we've fixed it now. Thank you for pointing it out!
funkycrsipy on 6th Oct 2014, 10:11pm | Permalink
It should have been fixed that other way, bringing down the overall rating....
Guest on 2nd Oct 2014, 12:47am | Permalink
I was about to ask the same. Logic ledu. 17/40 = 4.25
LEAVE A COMMENT has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Govindudu Andarivadele!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
This page was tagged for
govindudu andarivadele movie hero sister caractar name
sister character in govindhudu andharivade
govindudu andarivadele ram charan sister character
govindudu andarivadele only kajal agarwal in green saree
kajal agarwal in govindudu andarivadele in half sarees 3d
Follow on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.