Wednesday, 24 May 2017 »  Login
in
»
Movies » Inception Movie Review
I am at

Inception Review

Inception
Samrat Sharma / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
9.5
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
10.0
9.0
10.0
10.0
Suggestions
Can watch again
Yes
Good for kids
No
Good for dates
Yes
Wait to rent it
No
In making a film about the power of ideas - stealing them and preserving the essence of the truly good ones - Chris Nolan has also emerged triumphant is his execution of that idea. His ideas shape the film, and all his previous sub-textual elements, if you've been paying attention to his oeuvre, come together in a singular vision. It's such a cathartic experience watching this director hone his earlier strong points and exorcise past demons to create the one film that is the kind of film that can make a year special.

Freed from the shackles of fan boy appeasement, Nolan has delivered an action film that takes place entirely in the mind, and where the main antagonist are the demons that each character carries in his head. Where most of his earlier films had the emotional core as subtext, it is very rewarding to see a film where the emotions are part of the narrative fabric and dictate most of the on screen action.

This also defines the pacing of the film - I loved how the film is full of incident. If there isn't a completely nail biting action sequence on screen, there is a quiet moment where you get to know more about the characters. Some may view the exposition as examples of Nolan's cold and impersonal style of making films - but that couldn't be farther from the truth. He is very much interested in creating an emotional centre and understanding more of these people - the exposition isn't a long tirade, but comes in small sentences with plenty of visual cues peppered in between.

As Cobb (Leonardo DiCaprio), an experienced thief who specializes in stealing ideas and secrets from people's subconscious as they dream, tries to steal an idea from a powerful businessman Saito (Ken Watanabe), he unwittingly auditions for something Saito wants him to do. Saito wants him to instead plant an idea in the head of the heir of his business adversary. Most of the first part of the film is then Cobb assembling his team, which gives plenty of room for unravelling the rules of the dream world - and hence the heist - one by one, with plenty of interesting visual spectacle.

The visuals are the greatest strength of the film. Nolan is not interested in a big reveal or a major "gotcha!" moment. Rather, he asks us to follow him as he slowly reveals the film to us. The film is extremely rewarding to people paying attention and will reap major dividends when re-watching the film. The visual detail, explicit and subtle, is phenomenal.

What helps is Nolan's decision to physically shoot each scene. Almost all of the dream sequence is shot on location in real places, with a real camera crew, instead of a large green screen. This gives the film an immediacy - and helps establish the ground rules of dreams and reality. This also creates some of the most visually exciting and downright stunning action sequences committed to film, ever.

The zero gravity fight sequence will readily be compared to The Matrix, but it isn't as simple as that. The sequence uses a different visual language to punctuate it's action, and is easily the sort of highlight that can make you clap and blow whistles. In fact, this is true for most of the second half of the film.

The action goes deeper and deeper into different layers of dreams (dreams within dreams within dreams; within dreams even), and the sub conscious takes centre stage, and keeps on raising the stakes. As each level of dream state changes, the dream withing changes its rules, creating a dense layered action sequence that lasts a good part of an hour. It is the longest action sequence I have seen in recent times, and there is no fatigue - such heft does Nolan bring to the emotions behind the action.

Of course, the emotion is helped by the best actors in the business adding a third dimension to a straight up heist film. What could have been standard character tropes are brought to vivid life by these actors who add that little detail, and the tiniest of details in character moments that completely immerse you in these people's worlds and what they do. A roll call is unnecessary - everyone is so fantastic that there isn't the merest whiff of mediocrity.

In fact the film itself is that special - there isn't a wasted moment, or a run to the ground trope. Everything has its place in this world that Nolan has created, and for a film where losing control is the worst thing imaginable, the director is in complete control, and delivers the best film this year in an entertaining, visually stunning and beautifully realized vision. I'd watch this again in a heartbeat.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
INCEPTION SNAPSHOT
Inception (english) reviews
USER RATING
9.2
5 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
  • Cast
    Leonardo DiCaprio, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Ellen Page, Tom Hardy, Ken Watanabe, Dileep Rao, Cillian Murphy, Tom Berenger, Marion Cotillard, Pete Postlethwaite, Michael Caine, Lukas Haas
  • Music
    Hans Zimmer
  • Director
    Christopher Nolan
  • Theatres
    Not screening currently in any theatres in Hyderabad.
TOP COMMENT
Gnu on 28th Sep 2010, 2:00pm | Permalink
This Movie sucks. It sucks your mind into it. you don't even know that you got sucked so nicely.

It rolls in your mind after you leave the theatre, On the worse you feel like watching the movie again and again in I-Max and while watching the movie please take care of your ears they ll be glued to speakers while the music or sound track plays and Hans Zimmer the magician,Its difficult to keep them with you coz your eyes start admiring the work of Wally Pfister's team. I dont know why this movie is spoiling the present trend of using excess graphics .Why cant they simply use graphics is it so required to give the Real experience to audience leave audience, how can other film industries can afford to copy such movie . The graphics in Matrix type movie can be some what imitated to an extent .Its is so cruel to use such high end creative mind and effort. The director should think about imitators also he should not be so mean and selfish.

Pros: Hans Zimmer,Christopher Nolan,Wally Pfister
Cons: You cant watch pirated version
3
0
USER RATING
9.0
INCEPTION USER REVIEWS
1 - 12 OF 12 COMMENTS
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
9.2
5 USERS
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
9.3
8.6
9.6
9.4
Can watch again - Yes
Good for kids - No
Good for dates - Unsure
Wait to rent it - No
VishnuT on 4th Oct 2010, 1:09pm | Permalink
@SK Babu- :) Hey I like the idea of International Standard for Action Scenes. I am thinking out of holly box..I am not saying that holly movies are the classic stuff, one should look after.. I watch movie as a MOVIE.. As per this movie.. I accepted the fiction of "going into a dream"..same way.. I accept all our telugu/indian movies where there is no respect for Gravity (flying from buildings, catching bullets etc..) I enjoy them too.. Thats why I liked Inception..and coming to my 1st comment..yes, people will like this kind of movies.. i m wrong.. ppl do have right to get bored..in your post u've complained that people slept, yawned etc..but when I was in the movie hall, people were clapping at the end of the movie and were content with what they watched..I guess we are on two different movie zones..
sk babu on 1st Oct 2010, 5:19pm | Permalink
@ VishnuT, it appears I can't get higher IQ sarcasm.
Do hollywood movies calculate mathematically, chemically & physically while shooting for an action scene. Is there sum standard like International Standard for Action Scenes (Created by Hollywood and approved by VishnuT).
I told you to think out of holly box. It is no sarcasm or rebuke.
I got bored while watching the movie. And around me some wer chatting, some ran out and some wer sleeping like no 'kik'. I posted the same. If some fellow thinks it a masterpiece, I can't watch a boring film and post commendable comments just to prove am not dumb... certified by some film
VishnuT on 1st Oct 2010, 4:27pm | Permalink
@sk babu - I was being sarcastic, when I said high IQ .. but when I am defending the point that when we accept our movies with heroes killing others with their eye sight, 1 million goons with a single punch, hence INCEPTION should be accepted and to be enjoyed..I am honest when I meant that.
sk babu on 1st Oct 2010, 3:57pm | Permalink
@VishnuT, I stick on to my point, honey. Movie is damn boring. I go to movie for some entertainment, not to do PhD.
""This movie requires high IQ, great imaginations and love for fiction "" hahaha..

I think you are obsessed with Hollywood films. Since 18th century, we have been following foreigners blindly. I can't blame you. Think out of 'Hollywood box'.
VishnuT on 1st Oct 2010, 1:13pm | Permalink
Recently, I read a joke on Inception..It goes like this..In the movie, the whole time, Leo was longing to get back to his kids.. Why the hell didnt he fly his kids to him in France, so that they can live happily ever after ?? :) :) .. Joke Apart.. This movie requires high IQ, great imaginations and love for fiction :) , if you miss any one of this, you wouldnt love it, you might think how silly the movie is..dream within a dream, dream architect, improvisations etc.. Few guys here, wrote their perception about the movie, how boring etc.. Movies are made from one's imagination..do you really think its possible to kill someone with your looks? or bash up 1 million goons with one punch? when we enjoy them, we should enjoy this too. Telugu cinema should come out of the boring faction/college/love thing..and start venturing into more exciting things..Till then DREAM on...
RATING
9
smhdr on 30th Sep 2010, 12:03am | Permalink
Dream in a dream, actor himself doesnt know if he is in dream and uses a spinning top.i believe a movie should be comprehendable to even a common man. what the use of making it so complicated with dreams in dreams making us confused with the plot instead of enjoying the movie.Must watch movie i would say but no fun.Script is good but should have been directed in such a way that everyone understands the movie.

Pros: leonardo performance
Cons: dreams in dreams confusing
Gnu on 28th Sep 2010, 2:00pm | Permalink
This Movie sucks. It sucks your mind into it. you don't even know that you got sucked so nicely.

It rolls in your mind after you leave the theatre, On the worse you feel like watching the movie again and again in I-Max and while watching the movie please take care of your ears they ll be glued to speakers while the music or sound track plays and Hans Zimmer the magician,Its difficult to keep them with you coz your eyes start admiring the work of Wally Pfister's team. I dont know why this movie is spoiling the present trend of using excess graphics .Why cant they simply use graphics is it so required to give the Real experience to audience leave audience, how can other film industries can afford to copy such movie . The graphics in Matrix type movie can be some what imitated to an extent .Its is so cruel to use such high end creative mind and effort. The director should think about imitators also he should not be so mean and selfish.

Pros: Hans Zimmer,Christopher Nolan,Wally Pfister
Cons: You cant watch pirated version
RATING
9
sk babu on 7th Aug 2010, 11:36pm | Permalink
Boring Movie. Half of the audience are sleeping. Remaining are chatting. Director failed to capture audience attention. Instead of hyping, he could have concentrated on movie. Music and special effects are the only saving grace

Pros: Music, graphics
Cons: Direction
Gurram krishna on 2nd Aug 2010, 1:38pm | Permalink
Movie of the decade..the more you see this movie..the more one would appreciate minor things,soundrack by hans zimmer is just awesome...This movie makes other movies look pale
2power10 on 30th Jul 2010, 2:09pm | Permalink
Christopher Nolan is clever : you WILL have to watch this film more than once to completely get it.

Pros: visuals, music, the idea
Cons: too complex
krish_reebok on 17th Jul 2010, 12:57pm | Permalink
a DREAm inside a dream which holds other dream inside it..........the whole thing which we r seeing is a dream....then what is true and what not is true...........this was concept of inception understood by me................sandip krish
Phaneendra Kumar on 17th Jul 2010, 1:17am | Permalink
The movie is a visual spectacle as the reviewer aptly told... The human emotions are at the center stage and Christopher Nolan didn't disappoint, yet again. You will be sucked into the movie as it progresses and secretly wish for it never ending.

Watch this to believe your senses...

Pros: Script, Acting, Visuals
Cons: Almost nothing.
RATING
9
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Inception!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
Inception english movie
Inception reviews
release date
Leonardo DiCaprio, Joseph Gordon-Levitt
theatres list
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.