Monday, 24 July 2017 »  Login
in
»
Movies » Jayam Movie Review
I am at

Jayam Review

Arpan Panicker / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
6.0
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
NA
NA
NA
NA
Suggestions
Can watch again
NA
Good for kids
NA
Good for dates
NA
Wait to rent it
NA
Simplicity is an art that defies analysis. Edward De Bono is said to be an exponent of this art. Teja, I guess, is the Indian equivalent. He did it with Chitram. He did it again with that absolutely unimaginative piece of reel called Nuvvu Nenu. Jayam looks like it'll do a repeat.

With the exception of the Teja himself and the music director R P Patnaik, most of the crew of Jayam comprises new faces. The story is simple enough though there is undue weightage given to some strange fundas that we will discuss soon enough. Yet, after the success of Nuvvu Nenu, we know that nothing is predictable, and that - and that alone - makes Jayam a movie to watch out for.


Sujatha (Sada) and Raghu (Gopichand) are betrothed in childhood itself when their respective dads were buddies. Raghu's dad gets rich and moves away, Raghu in tow. With money come wiles, and Raghu grows up into a despicable, sadistic character who looks like he uses an "Essential Wiles" checklist before starting off on his regular day.


Sujatha on the other hand grows up into a simple village belle. Except for an annoying mannerism reminiscent of a Rexona ad, she is likeable enough. And here we also meet Venkataramana (Nitin), the Indian version of Spiderman - or should it be Honeybeeman? The guy is from a poor family and makes money suspended on a rope collecting honey - a skill that proves useful enough later on.

Venky and Sujatha meet and fall in love without much fuss. Some melodious songs and well-shot scenes later, we have one humongous haddi in the form of Raghu who jumps into the fray. He reminds Sujatha of their childhood betrothal and they get re-engaged. He beats up Venky and almost gets married to Sujatha.


Venky, however, does the great Indian rope trick, first for writing threatening messages on walls, and later to whisk away the girl. Then follows a really long chase scene where we see Raghu's javelin-throwing skills, the symbolic relevance of the flag that has Lord Hanuman lifting the Sanjeevani mountain, and also how the best things in life are never perfect.

The performances are impressive enough

for persons new to the screen. Both Nitin and Sada have done reasonably well, though Nitin could have been better and appears too small to play the role. Gopichand however takes the whole bakery. You grow to detest the man, and that speaks volumes about the way he has executed the character. Shakila in a surprising appearance and an actor with the screen name of Ali too are interesting.


The music is a bonus. The second half drags and looks silly at times. The fight scenes especially are quite undigestable. There is only so much credit you can attribute to a flag. Jayam turns out to be just an average flick at the end of the day.  
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
JAYAM SNAPSHOT
USER RATING
7.5
122 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
  • Cast
    Nitin, Sada, Gopichand
    3 users say this is wrong.
  • Music
    R P Patnaik
    2 users say this is wrong.
  • Director
    Teja
    2 users say this is wrong.
  • Theatres
    Not screening currently in any theatres in Hyderabad.
    2 users say this is wrong.
JAYAM USER REVIEWS
1 - 15 OF 39 COMMENTS  |  NEXT  |  LAST
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
7.5
122 USERS
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
NA
NA
NA
NA
Can watch again - NA
Good for kids - NA
Good for dates - NA
Wait to rent it - NA
Mani Deep on 7th Apr 2008, 11:20am | Permalink
good
RATING
10
Sandy on 22nd Apr 2006, 1:10pm | Permalink
too good movie
RATING
10
Abhijeet on 14th Apr 2006, 1:20pm | Permalink
Film is excellent. ye sujataaaaaaaaaaaaaa....alibaba baut sahi hai
RATING
10
Laxyaaaa on 12th Apr 2006, 8:07pm | Permalink
Just Fantastic movie yaar...



No challenge to this movie.
RATING
10
Santosh on 11th Apr 2006, 4:01pm | Permalink
I am from maharashtra. Though I don't understand telgu I daily listen the songs of this movie bcaz the language sounds very sweet. Jayam is very decent love story.
RATING
10
Arvind Chavan on 9th Aug 2005, 4:44pm | Permalink
Actully i am from Maharashtra Nanded dist by some regions i came to NZb & watch this movi I like the song Priyatama,Ranu Ranu ,Sambasi & the story the hero nitin is looks very cute this movi hits in all districs of maharashtra & the song Ranu ranu also
RATING
10
Khan Hadjara on 28th Oct 2002, 11:14pm | Permalink
it's me again! i love priyathamma telusuna and ranura antunde. i've seen this film 3 times because it has a very good story and nitin is very cute when he is being introduced. ali baba is a very good person and i want to see him in other films, too.
RATING
10
Khan Hadjara on 28th Oct 2002, 11:04pm | Permalink
i love nitin and sada - nitin because he looks very nice and he is so young - i am too :). sada ali acted as well as nitin. i watched this film in kakinada in my holidays because i am living in france and so can't see telugu movies. but they're so good and amusing, specially teja movies. thanks for reading my comments and my salams for all the telugu actors. mahesh is very cute my kisses for him. thanks (excuse me for my english i know that it's so-so) and all my love for you!
RATING
10
Dhanan Jaya on 19th Oct 2002, 10:01pm | Permalink
good movie - i have seen it 4 times. and i like priyathama telasuma & evaru emmanna.
RATING
10
Rajagopal Reddy K Reddy K on 23rd Sep 2002, 3:28pm | Permalink
verry good dress in actress and story ,action etc
RATING
10
Ravi Kumar on 21st Sep 2002, 10:54pm | Permalink
vvgood
RATING
6
Swetha Cherukuri on 19th Sep 2002, 1:13am | Permalink
same old story line . not bad to see once .
RATING
4
Sharat Kumar on 17th Sep 2002, 5:00pm | Permalink
Wonderul stuff to watch.Long time since we all could go and watch a movie with our families...excellent Teja keep it up
RATING
10
Sindhu on 14th Sep 2002, 7:38am | Permalink
cool movie...same old story line but saw it in a different angle with nice music...now coming to the HERO...he is so cute(like a baby)....but he looks like he is gonna cry any movement......now comes the heroine...she was pretty like every new coming heroine...but the indian dress wow..thast was cute....she looked really nice in it....villian...he was goodloooking too.....director did his job very wel....over all...it was a HIT!!!!
RATING
10
Shridhar on 10th Sep 2002, 7:50pm | Permalink
the movie is good, sada is very pretty and gopichand fits the role well. the hero is good too......truly a watchable movie
RATING
8
1 - 15 OF 39 COMMENTS  |  NEXT  |  LAST
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Jayam!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
Jayam move actors name
jayam flag
jayam movie story
sadha in telagu jayam photos
jayam telugu movie review rating
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.