Friday, 21 July 2017 »  Login
in
»
Movies » Katamarayudu Movie Review
I am at

Katamarayudu Review

Katamarayudu
Josh / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
6.0
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
8.0
5.0
5.0
7.0
Suggestions
Can watch again
No
Good for kids
No
Good for dates
No
Wait to rent it
Yes
There is this mistake that Venkatesh keeps making with remakes like Drushyam or Gopala Gopala. No, we aren't criticising remakes - playing safe isn't necessarily a mistake. What we're calling a mistake is hiring utterly mediocre directing talent for superb scripts. Sripriya for Drushyam and Kishore Kumar Pardasani (who is also the director of Katamarayudu) for Gopala Gopala are both equivalent to buying your cloth from Reid & Taylor and getting it stitched by a shamiana tent-maker. The better the script, the worse the mistake appears.

So it is sort of a good thing that Katamarayudu's script is unoriginal and straightforward. Kishore Kumar Pardasani manages to make the film look all right. With the help of cinematographer Prasad Murella, Pardasani makes sure that Pawan Kalyan is built up incredibly in most scenes. So yeah, Katamarayudu is not the kind of dull film it would have been if they tried to remake, say, Bajrangi Bhaijaan.

Rayudu (Pawan Kalyan) and his four brothers are the benevolent muscle of their village, and in exercise of this benevolence, they pile up a horde of enemies who're baying for blood. And for unexplained reasons, Rayudu is a misogynist (in the most literal and dignified sense of the term - he just hates women and wants nothing to do with them).

As is norm in such films, his brothers and close friend Lingam (Ali) are all banned from any amorous activity whatsoever. And maintaining the norm, they take the ban lightly (if Peddarikam comes to your mind, we've succeeded in communicating this plot point to you). However, when push comes to shove the men still need their brother's acceptance of their respective romances, and they argue that this may be achieved only by finding a reason to stick Shruti Hassan onto the film.

Rayudu's romance with Avanthika (Haasan) hits a roadblock when she figures out around the interval that the hero sends hardworking stuntmen flying on a regular basis. She tells him that she and her father (Nasser) are both peaceful people who were labouring under the assumption that this film was a romance. Rayudu tries to explain to her that the Tholi Prema days are long gone and that it just won't work without the action blocks.

This conflict between romance and action gives way to a family drama between Rayudu's and Avanthika's families. It is only towards the climax that Katamarayudu finally realises that he needed Koratala Siva to mix this genre cocktail.

The first half is a breeze. It largely relies on Pawan Kalyan's star wattage and comic timing, both of which are not in short supply. The presence of Ali, Sivabalaji and Ajay in the cast is always a good thing, and they make themselves feel welcome. Shruti Hassan, whose role limits her to half-saris and salwar-kameezes, discovers the many benefits of backless blouses (therefore holding out a proverbial biscuit each for the class and mass audiences respectively). The jokes crackle, the fights sparkle, and times flies by.

The second half, however, is a drag. It tries to rely on Pawan Kalyan's star wattage and emoting, and figures out that they are not enough. You also catch on to the fact that Anup Reubens' music is like any of his non-Akkineni albums - quite forgettable. Pawan Kalyan and his brothers still manage to curry up some laughs and hoots, but they're just about enough to not make you walk out. The post-show discussions were all about the first-half jokes and the first-half fights. Like we said, the first half alone flies.

Katamarayudu joins the lamentable list of mass films which get their basics wrong by just not having a good villain. There are three or four villains in the film, all of whom summarily get their butt kicked and never pose a sturdy challenge to the hero. This method worked for Gabbar Singh when the fans were rather desperate for a powerful Pawan Kalyan film, but that was really an aberration. The worthiest of stars still needs a worthy antagonist. We thought, in the first half, that Rao Ramesh was going to be that, but he is reduced to a comedian (he is a hoot anyway).

The best part of Katamarayudu is the very beginning stretch which leads to the hero's introduction. Pradeep Rawat and his brother diligently establish themselves as bad and powerful. They almost insult Rayudu in his own household. Rayudu's cow begins to rage at them and you know their stars aren't smiling. You think their doom's coming from the cow until Rayudu takes up the matter personally. You get a glimpse of what star power can do.

You keep getting glimpses of star power through the film, but that's what they are. Glimpses, not visions.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
KATAMARAYUDU SNAPSHOT
Katamarayudu (telugu) reviews
USER RATING
3.0
1 USER
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
  • Cast
    Pawan Kalyan, Shruti Hassan, Rao Ramesh, Ajay, Chaitanya Krishna, Kamal Kamaraju, Siva Balaji, Ali, Pruthvi, Nassar, Pavitra Lokesh
  • Music
    Anup Rubens
  • Director
    Kishore Kumar Pardasani (Dolly)
  • Theatres
    Not screening currently in any theatres in Hyderabad.
TOP COMMENT
The Common Movie Goer on 27th Mar 2017, 10:53am | Permalink
OMG, this movie is a remake of the film Veerudokkade? I had no idea. I had only seen the second half of the film on TV and thought it was a bad movie. Imagine my surprise when familiar scenes start playing out on the screen in the 2nd half. As it is, the first half of the movie felt like an absolute snooze fest. No PK star power coming through, just one boring romance scene after another. How can people fail to leverage such charisma and talent, always beats me. I wish PK would churn out more films like Thammudu, Balu, Annavaram, and Suswagatham (most of which were remakes, I'll admit). He should stay away from films which neither utilize his screen presence or his intelligence and subtlety.

Josh was bang on about the background score. What's with Rubens and the Akkinenis? It's like DSP and Allu Arjun or Mani Sharma and almost everyone (I love Mani Sharma, bring him back please). On the other hand, I don't think he got the rating right on this one. 6 seems a little generous, given that people like me watch it with inflated expectations.
5
1
USER RATING
3.0
KATAMARAYUDU USER REVIEWS
1 - 7 OF 7 COMMENTS
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
3.0
1 USER
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
NA
NA
NA
NA
Can watch again - NA
Good for kids - NA
Good for dates - NA
Wait to rent it - NA
The Common Movie Goer on 27th Mar 2017, 10:53am | Permalink
OMG, this movie is a remake of the film Veerudokkade? I had no idea. I had only seen the second half of the film on TV and thought it was a bad movie. Imagine my surprise when familiar scenes start playing out on the screen in the 2nd half. As it is, the first half of the movie felt like an absolute snooze fest. No PK star power coming through, just one boring romance scene after another. How can people fail to leverage such charisma and talent, always beats me. I wish PK would churn out more films like Thammudu, Balu, Annavaram, and Suswagatham (most of which were remakes, I'll admit). He should stay away from films which neither utilize his screen presence or his intelligence and subtlety.

Josh was bang on about the background score. What's with Rubens and the Akkinenis? It's like DSP and Allu Arjun or Mani Sharma and almost everyone (I love Mani Sharma, bring him back please). On the other hand, I don't think he got the rating right on this one. 6 seems a little generous, given that people like me watch it with inflated expectations.
RATING
3
samudrala.aneesh on 29th Apr 2017, 9:34am
Post deleted.
Hype_buster on 27th Mar 2017, 11:05am | Permalink
You wrote "How can people fail to leverage such charisma and talent, always beats me"

Because there is no charisma and talent, just antics......

You wrote "........his screen presence or his intelligence and subtlety......"

Really???
The Common Movie Goer on 28th Mar 2017, 7:51am | Permalink
He is definitely one of the most talented, Hype_buster, I don't think there are too many actors who can emote better than he does. His old films are testament to that. He used to be really subtle, but when the director and producer are looking to exploit star power, I think it's natural that those elements don't come to the fore. For me, actors are some of the most intelligent people out there. Sure there are some dumb ones, but it takes a lot of intelligence to manipulate others' emotions. Any good negotiator will tell you that, and great negotiators are all highly intelligent people.

When you think about it, actors have a very tough job. It's difficult to be liked and appreciated by all. It's easy for people like me to comment that things should have been done better, but I understand why it's so difficult to make a good movie. The only reason I started mini-reviewing movies is so that people don't spend too much time only to walk away disappointed. I still try to watch as many movies as I can, doesn't matter how bad the reviews are. To quote my mom, "antha kashtabadi theesaru kada, oka sari choosthe emai pothundi?"
Nellore(Kostha)Rayudu on 26th Mar 2017, 1:35am | Permalink
Seriously,just was trying to jeoprdz both da movies.....Nakka vs nagalokam.....

Note:nagalokam=Veeram
samudrala.aneesh on 29th Apr 2017, 9:34am
Post deleted.
Harshita on 25th Mar 2017, 5:28am | Permalink
The first half bit if description- four brothers, the elder one hates women - reminded me of the movie Hulchul.

Rofl at "Shruti Hassan, whose role limits her to half-saris and salwar-kameezes, discovers the many benefits of backless blouses (therefore holding out a proverbial biscuit each for the class and mass audiences respectively)."

As always, big fan of your reviews! No matter how average the movie is, you make the reviews interesting.
hemanth.ssspr on 26th Mar 2017, 1:40am | Permalink
hey...being hormonal....i like the word"backless"
Dampener on 27th Mar 2017, 11:37am | Permalink
I assure you that you will never get to touch a back with a backless blouse ever during the rest of your life. Your hormones are going to be wasted......
Josh on 25th Mar 2017, 7:32am | Permalink
Dhanyavad ji :)

Btw, the film I mentioned, Peddarikam, is the Telugu version of Hulchul.
Swaroop Thotada on 24th Mar 2017, 11:55pm | Permalink
Anup Rubens' soporific background score made miss Manisharma even more badly.
Josh on 25th Mar 2017, 7:34am | Permalink
I have no idea why they hire him at all. You missed Manisharma. I missed even Thaman!
Swaroop Thotada on 25th Mar 2017, 12:13am | Permalink
* made me
Seshu on 24th Mar 2017, 10:07pm | Permalink
All other reviews mention that it is strictly for fans (I don't know what that means and I am still scratching my head thinking how the reviewer could've figured that out). You didn't mention that and I felt very happy by the end. Loved your review for 'Winner'.
Ever_Doubter on 24th Mar 2017, 10:29pm | Permalink
I am scratching my head as to how one can call Pawan Kalyan an 'actor'?
Josh on 24th Mar 2017, 10:24pm | Permalink
Thanks, Seshu.

If I may venture, "strictly for fans" is how you say the film is difficult to sit through. I'd call Sardar Gabbar Singh that sort of a film (I luckily escaped it). Katamarayudu is passable entertainment though.
JayZ on 24th Mar 2017, 9:59pm | Permalink
So you are the " hotshot" reviewer Now eh, Josh?? Only reviewing big movies while the newbies handle the smaller ones
Josh on 24th Mar 2017, 10:04pm | Permalink
Edo mee abhimanam :P

More realistically, I'm the last reviewer standing. Ravi's unwell. Swaroop's not around. Vaishnavi can't do Telugu.

I did Nenorakam which was a lousy film and Trapped which was offbeat. So, nope, not hotshot.
The Common Movie Goer on 25th Mar 2017, 10:13am | Permalink
Personally, as a Josh fan, I'd rather see him review the Nenorakams of the world. Those are way more entertaining and have more scope for venting creatively. I realize that doesn't paint me in good light, but our entertainment makes up for his sacrifice (more like suffering really)!
JayZ on 25th Mar 2017, 4:09pm | Permalink
We really enjoy it when Josh reviews movies like Nenokarakam and Bhai etc...where he undergoes a lot of pain and his words reflect the pain he is in...that makes us sadists right?
Josh on 25th Mar 2017, 6:56pm | Permalink
:-|
Josh on 25th Mar 2017, 12:59pm | Permalink
I'll remember this the next time I'm watching a less than 3 film. Any reason I can give myself helps.
Kishore on 24th Mar 2017, 7:17pm | Permalink
Good review
Josh on 24th Mar 2017, 10:00pm | Permalink
Thanks, Kishore :)
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Katamarayudu!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
bhm movie katamarayudu
Katamarayudu telugu movie
Katamarayudu reviews
release date
Pawan Kalyan, Shruti Hassan
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.