Thursday, 21 September 2017 »  Login
in
»
Movies » Life Is Beautiful (Telugu) Movie Review
I am at

Life Is Beautiful (Telugu) Review

Life Is Beautiful (Telugu)
Kritika Deval / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
7.5
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
8.0
7.0
7.0
8.0
Suggestions
Can watch again
Yes
Good for kids
Yes
Good for dates
Yes
Wait to rent it
No
We enter the movie hall to an air thrumming with the tangible excitement of people who have come prepared for a good time. It is only to be expected. Shekhar Kammula has mastered, and then some, the art of a certain brand of idyllia that has people coming back for more.

It isn't that those residing in his little bit of Utopia don't face any problems. Or even that they are perfect. In fact, they're all eminently human, with human flaws and joys and sorrows. What makes this world Utopian is the belief it manages to instill amongst its viewers that hell, high water, Scylla-Charybdis situations or treacherous Sirens notwithstanding, life really is beautiful and everything is going to be alright.

So you have Srinu (Abhijeet Duddala) who, along with his two little sisters, is packed off to Hyderabad by his mysteriously insistent mother (Amala Akkineni). He makes for an interesting subject as you watch him grapple with the sudden responsibility of taking care of his sisters, and of gaining a stable career.

Then there is Nagaraj (Sudhakar Komakula), the footloose and fancy-free son of a Qualis driver who is constantly harangued by his father to make something of himself.

And finally you have Abhi (Kaushik), a genius who takes the art of being a smart-alec to all new heights, who constantly gets into trouble by virtue of his audacious tongue, and finds love far beyond his reach.

All three reside in the Sunshine Valley, which is bifurcated into the middle-class B-Phase and the Gold Phase which is populated by those with golden spoons firmly stuck in their mouths.

What follows is a delightful story that tells you of the travails of refreshingly ordinary people as they work their way through the maze formed by the cornerstones of life - career, love, family, society, celebration, and conflicts.

The residents of B-Phase have a wonderful sense of community that incorporates more than a touch of nostalgia and wishful-thinking. The portrayal of the affluent Gold Phase dwellers as a brashly entitled lot is rather jarring, but the director redeems himself towards the end.

Now for the characters. The newcomers, for the most part, do full justice to their characters. Anjala Zaveri, although extremely attractive and competent as an actress, is more window dressing than an important character. Amala Akkineni makes her presence felt in the short time that she occupies screen space. Shriya Saran, as the rich girl with a heart of gold, is as convincing as she is gorgeous even though she looks a tad too polished amongst a cast that is mostly occupied by newcomers.

The most noteworthy character is the little girl who plays Srinu's younger sister. This writer is not ashamed to confess that she might have shed more than a tear or two (read: bawled her eyes out) as she watched the adorable little girl give an emotion-clogged speech on her mother.

The music by Mickey J. Meyer, although pleasant, isn't something you're going to find yourself humming ten years from now. Lyrics by Veturi, which brought to life the music in all of Kammula's earlier movies, are sorely missed. May that man's poetic soul rest in peace.

The movie is lovely to look at as the cinematography by Vijay C. Kumar perfectly complements Thotta Tharani's beautifully created sets.

Like with every Kammula movie, you find yourself laughing here, shedding a tear there, or even thoughtful at times. Our only grouse with the movie is an ending that doesn't quite manage to tie up all the loose ends.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
LIFE IS BEAUTIFUL (TELUGU) SNAPSHOT
Life Is Beautiful (Telugu) (telugu) reviews
USER RATING
6.5
11 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
TOP COMMENT
AJ on 25th Dec 2012, 5:39pm | Permalink
Just had the misfortune of catching this dud on MAATV. I am yet to come out of shock! I have seen worst movies but this one probably beats most of them. It's especially annoying because this product, coming in a velvety and attractive package and gloss literally cheats you! Every scene is so cliche and so hammed up, aimless, etc. The most surprising thing was the review here (script 7.0!!???) but that's a different story because when you are a diehard fan the side effect is you start losing your vision. I think the downward trend after Anand has now finally reached the lowest point and I am hoping things don't go any worst than this. BTW, (a) I have never seen a middle aged woman coming out and dancing in open every time it rains, (b) a beautiful lady ruffling a neighborhood boy's hair every time she meets him (won't even talk about the kissing), (c) building tree-houses for kids in India, (d) spelling bee contest between a "Govt." school and a Convent school to decide upon the school admission of a kid and the Convent school suddenly shedding a tear on hearing some blabbering in Telugu, etc. And I still don't understand why in our movies the "rich" are always bad and the "poor" are all noble!!! And truly speaking I don't know why everyone is going gaga over Amala's role/performance. Actually you can cast ANY or the first housewife you meet in that role and can extract the same "performance". Well, I can just go and on... I am glad that I didn't waste my money on this but I did waste much more precious than that - 5 hours of time plus 15 minutes typing/venting out my frustration!

Pros: Visuals
Cons: Everything
9
0
USER RATING
1.0
LIFE IS BEAUTIFUL (TELUGU) USER REVIEWS
1 - 15 OF 17 COMMENTS  |  NEXT  |  LAST
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
6.5
11 USERS
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
1.0
1.0
1.0
8.0
Can watch again - No
Good for kids - Unsure
Good for dates - No
Wait to rent it - No
SC on 8th Feb 2013, 10:24pm | Permalink
Completely agree with AJ - this is probably the worst movie I've seen in a long time (mainly because I haven't seen Indian movies for a few years). There's absolutely nothing in the movie that's interesting, and the number of times I said WTH is some three-digit number. I thought 'Happy Days' was a mediocre movie that got hyped up by teenage hormones, but 'Happy Days' is Oscar-worthy compared to this movie.

Shekhar K - please stop making these movies.
AJ on 25th Dec 2012, 5:39pm | Permalink
Just had the misfortune of catching this dud on MAATV. I am yet to come out of shock! I have seen worst movies but this one probably beats most of them. It's especially annoying because this product, coming in a velvety and attractive package and gloss literally cheats you! Every scene is so cliche and so hammed up, aimless, etc. The most surprising thing was the review here (script 7.0!!???) but that's a different story because when you are a diehard fan the side effect is you start losing your vision. I think the downward trend after Anand has now finally reached the lowest point and I am hoping things don't go any worst than this. BTW, (a) I have never seen a middle aged woman coming out and dancing in open every time it rains, (b) a beautiful lady ruffling a neighborhood boy's hair every time she meets him (won't even talk about the kissing), (c) building tree-houses for kids in India, (d) spelling bee contest between a "Govt." school and a Convent school to decide upon the school admission of a kid and the Convent school suddenly shedding a tear on hearing some blabbering in Telugu, etc. And I still don't understand why in our movies the "rich" are always bad and the "poor" are all noble!!! And truly speaking I don't know why everyone is going gaga over Amala's role/performance. Actually you can cast ANY or the first housewife you meet in that role and can extract the same "performance". Well, I can just go and on... I am glad that I didn't waste my money on this but I did waste much more precious than that - 5 hours of time plus 15 minutes typing/venting out my frustration!

Pros: Visuals
Cons: Everything
RATING
1
gopi on 11th Nov 2012, 5:14pm | Permalink
super movie...amma value telustundi
RATING
8
ram on 27th Sep 2012, 11:13am | Permalink
fucking mve
ram on 27th Sep 2012, 10:59am | Permalink
wak
priya on 23rd Sep 2012, 1:51am | Permalink
oka cinema chudalante story avasarame ldu i mean it we should enjoy the glimpses of atmosphere in the movie as well as the wonderful music shekar sir very well done movie sir and one more e movie amma value telsinavalake chala bga nchutundi.......
sandeep.ndon on 27th Sep 2012, 11:13am | Permalink
happy days lage undi e mve kuda its very intrstng mve enjyd
meghana on 20th Sep 2012, 5:52pm | Permalink
awesome movie
Saikumar on 18th Sep 2012, 2:07pm | Permalink
Situational comedy, sensuous heriones (Sriya, Anjala, .....), weak story, juvenile acting by all new comers is what is all about Life is Beautiful.

Veterans Chandra Mohan, Amala, Sreya and Anjala performed pretty well.

Locations are all good. Settings by Padmashri Tota Tarini are excellant.

Music by Micky J Meyer is hummable.

Direction is weak in parts. First is better than the 2nd half. Ending is abrupt. It could have been better.

Finally, there is innocence in this movie, which could work wonders at box office, unless some big time movie releases in next 2 weeks:)
RATING
7
Nellorian on 18th Sep 2012, 12:03am | Permalink
Life is beautiful ??????? ???? English ?? ???? ?????? ???? ???? ?????????? . ???? ??? ?? ???????? ???? "???? ?????????????" .
Translation: It's more effective if I say about Life is beautiful in Telugu than English. In one sentence, it reminds you of your mom.

I am so overwhelmed by the movie that when I sit now to write about it, I am short of words. This only happened to me before when any movie touched me deeply and moved me. This movie reminds you of your roots, middle class lives, middle class attachments, annoying money minded relatives, caring friends, love stories and with more emphasis on the important person of everyone's life, mother.

Sorry for revealing main key points but they won't spoil your experience but only make you cry more. Thanks to so many reviews I read, I knew Amala had cancer. So I started crying in first scene itself when she sees her kids off to their uncle's place. What follows after that is yes, a rehash of Happy days in a colony which is thoroughly enjoyable if you enjoyed Happy days. First half is not fresh but smooth like a breeze. I still don't understand how a movie director can pull you into his "beautiful" world so effectively using such simple things. I was living in Sunshine valley until the end except the interval block :)

Second half starts off well, goes on smooth and then the key scenes of Amala start. I would write down the dialogues that moved me. "Chooodara, adhi naa chellelu raa, enni maatalu anindhi choodu", Amala to her daughter: "Medicine seat vasthundhaa", Nagaraj to Amala: "Amma meeru biryani chesi pettali" and dialogues of Chinni in school. Sekhar sir, I bow before you for the scene where Abhi talks to his mom after meeting Amala in hospital. "Alaa kaadhu maa, "Neeku" emi kaavali amma"...God I am crying again. Yes I am not shying away from saying that I uncontrollably cried in this movie.

Coming to songs, "emundho ee ammayillo" is the most beautiful song ever on girls. It is cute, sweet, sensuous and very romantic. Hats off to composition, lyrics, actors and direction. "Amma" song flows along the narrative while you are busy crying. All the actors did a beautiful job. Srinu was sweet, Nagaraju was mass and Abhi was timepass. All the heroines were drop dead gorgeous and hot where needed. Credit should go to the taste of Sekhar.

My deepest and humble RESPECT to Sekhar Kammula.
justin on 18th Sep 2012, 2:39am | Permalink
Hats off to you for finding coherence in an otherwise incoherent movie :)
Nellorian on 18th Sep 2012, 3:27am | Permalink
I dont really understand what the confusion in the plot is. His narration is always like this, right from Anand days. FYI Anand and Godavari are called classics now. So I had the right mood set before entering the theater. I knew this movie will be a few notches above the typical Telugu cinema and I was obviously satisfied.
justin on 19th Sep 2012, 4:29pm | Permalink
I understand that u r a hardcore kammula fan.
shyam on 17th Sep 2012, 9:37pm | Permalink
shekar kammala dont know how to make a youthfull movie, but unnecessarly he is lifting up by the innocent AP people, if you dont agree with me watch once again anand movie you will realize it, he dosenot know how to make a movie but he is doing
Amar on 17th Sep 2012, 1:16pm | Permalink
shekar has to come out from past movie taking-Amar
Jubilee hills roamer on 28th Dec 2012, 1:34pm | Permalink
Aren't U the aspiring movie director & writer Amar?
Jagadish Baddukonda on 17th Sep 2012, 12:17pm | Permalink
Wonderfull movie. Except for the first 30 mins in the second half - the entire movie is very enjoyable - just watching the daily events in our lives unfold in front of us.
Hari on 16th Sep 2012, 9:34pm | Permalink
Amateurish ,incoherent,illogical & a complete waste of time! Dont understand what the director was thinking -putting a few good looking faces together in good looking set pieces doesnt make a good movie! you need to have a storyline!
Rahul Suryadevara on 16th Sep 2012, 9:15pm | Permalink
Some how I felt this is a power point presentation for 3 hours with main bullet points covering what makes life beautiful. My wife said " I felt like going to a family event and crying" when we left the hall we felt with more confusion and tiredness of shedding tears in the last part of the movie. One most powerful scene did I not get much significance in the story due to lack of coherence in narration sequence. " the scene where Abhi wakes up early morning and asks his mom what she really wants". Our life rich or poor is beautiful only because of the unconditional sacrifices made by our wellwishers. This scene could have been central theme of the whole movie. Did not like it's presentation. I was thinking how would satyajit ray narrate it?!!!! This is another success for Shekhar. But I think success with some lessons to revisit the movie making funds. It is quite natural that genius needs to revist fundamentals to become masters.
Pratap. on 16th Sep 2012, 4:22pm | Permalink
2 words. Time waste. After a point I felt even Kammula lost interest in the movie and decided to piece together whatever he shot till that day.
1 - 15 OF 17 COMMENTS  |  NEXT  |  LAST
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Life Is Beautiful (Telugu)!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
Life Is Beautiful (Telugu) telugu movie
Life Is Beautiful (Telugu) reviews
release date
Abijeet, Sudhakar
theatres list
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.