Tuesday, 25 October 2016 »  Login
Movies » Oka Romantic Crime Katha Movie Review
I am at

Oka Romantic Crime Katha Review

Oka Romantic Crime Katha
Deepa Garimella / fullhyd.com
Can watch again
Good for kids
Good for dates
Wait to rent it
"This film is only for adults, ma'am. Do you have proof of your age?" the well-trained attendant at INOX's ticket counter asks us, before pulling out a form (presumably, to declare that we are older than 18) for us to sign.

That may as well have been a consent form for a surgery gone horribly wrong.

Because there's no two ways to say this - Oka Romantic Crime Katha is a film so bad it's a wonder how it managed to get itself a release. The makers of this story of teenage depravity have more issues than worrying about underage audiences, and they ought to start with getting themselves a film course, quick.

Tanmayi, Veena and Anju are 3 girls who become friends because they hang out at a bus stop. Veena is in college, and has a boyfriend Kiran, who claims to make short films. Tanmayi is a tenth-standard teenager who has a silent admirer called Sanjay. And Anju, who is in her Intermediate, basically sleeps around. Sanjay wants to impress Tanmayi with a nice bike, so he takes the most obvious route to earning money there is - chain-snatching.

One day, Anju discovers that she's pregnant, and gets an illegal abortion despite being a minor. In the meantime, the school-going Tanmayi and her boyfriend have teamed up to make a quick buck out of duping people on Facebook (don't even ask) and murdering them in cold blood. And Veena's lover has now taken to blackmailing her with videos of them having sex.

No problem is solved in any meaningful way. Anju, after her abortion, continues to sleep with so many men and get so many more abortions that get her uterus actually goes for a toss. Veena jumps off her college building and dies. And Tanmayi and Sanjay are finally convicted for their crimes and shot in an "encounter" by the police.

What deserves to be a forgettable Youtube clip has somehow been stretched to a full feature-length production (with a couple of songs, even) - one that confounds you repeatedly with its inanity. The makers want to tell you the motivations behind why the teenagers do what they do, but these efforts fall flat. Awkwardness and absurdity prevails all over, not helped at all by the abysmal performances. For example, Tanmayi discovers that her mom has an extra-marital affair, and shattered by the fact, then goes to Sanjay, declaring, "Sanjay, I want to sleep with you like your wife".

There's no writing in place, no creative process - just a bunch of amateurs who strung together a couple of scenes enacted by their friends. The actors mumble lines (that are anything but) and are low on energy, save for the girl who plays Tanmayi, who actually makes an effort to act. The film is so low on quality it's entirely possible that these "actors" were as stealthily shot by the maker as the sleazy Kiran shoots his unsuspecting girlfriends.

It's the kind of film that will be forgotten in a less than a week. Unfortunately, we won't - we watched it.
Share. Save. Connect.
Oka Romantic Crime Katha (telugu) reviews
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
ten rupees ticket batch on 4th Jul 2012, 1:14pm | Permalink
oreyyyyy...edho okati correct ga cheppandi ra.....bagundha...ledha?yes r no?
1 - 15 OF 20 COMMENTS  |  NEXT  |  LAST
Can watch again - NA
Good for kids - NA
Good for dates - NA
Wait to rent it - NA
Changis Khan on 20th Jul 2012, 2:08pm | Permalink
Parama chetha Movie - Friends tho kurchoni chudadaaniki kuda sigheesindhi - Youth lo kontha mandhe ilaa undochu - Present youth and Parents ni chaaala negative shade lo chupinchaaru. Meekhu Dabhulu kaavalante chaalane Topics unnai society lo vatini gurinchi Theeyandi - Vulgar ga double meaning dilouges and Direct ga boothulu maatlaadadam chupinchi, chivarlo yeedho ivanni thaphu ani message ichi nattu cover cheesi nattu anipinchindhi - Meeru ivvalanukhunna message correct ga present cheyalekha pooyaru.

inkhaa beautiful ga present cheeyochu - sowmyanga meeru anukhunnadhi message delivery cheyochu - finally wasting of time and thinking about this movie.
veturisarma on 18th Jul 2012, 12:44am | Permalink
I think it was a mistake to send Ms Deepa to this film and ask her to review it. For all the highest regards I have of her reviews and for fullhyd website in general this one was off target by a long shot
veturisarma on 18th Jul 2012, 12:41am | Permalink
I think it was a mistake to send Ms Deepa to this film and ask her to review it. For all the highest regards I have of her reviews and for fullhyd website in general this one was off target by a long shot
ten rupees ticket batch on 4th Jul 2012, 1:14pm | Permalink
oreyyyyy...edho okati correct ga cheppandi ra.....bagundha...ledha?yes r no?
charan on 29th Jul 2012, 5:44pm | Permalink
yes movie bagundhi...
acting chetha ga undani review lo ichharu
but look at their age they r hardly 16-19 years old what do u expect a national award winning performance aa?. and its their first movie i think they did a great job every one..i dont say movie is good r bad it is entertaining n Thank u for entertaining me..n ya this movie make me to think ..recently no movie made me to do that.
shekar on 31st Oct 2014, 7:00pm | Permalink
suuuper bayya ....baga cheppav.its a bold and good fim that makes teenagers to think what they doing,they don't think that they are doing right or wrong.it that is wrong.everyone have to analysis the people around them,who are loving them and who is trying to betray them..................finally nice film and nice comment of yours"charan"
HARSHITA on 27th Apr 2013, 12:37am | Permalink
wa bhai wah true...

i think is really good!!!
varma on 3rd Jul 2012, 12:44pm | Permalink
I saw this movie. Small picture wise movie is good. I also saw this shooting at vizag. Movie is more better if some songs, back ground music and little bit senior junior artists. hero is very handsome and three girls also acted very good. any way try to do better movie next time with good subject which allows familys. you can make better movie with the same hero. you take one example that ee rojullo cinema.. it is beautiful without no any exposing, double meaning dialogues, valger etc.,
ashok on 2nd Jul 2012, 11:25pm | Permalink
nice film i ejoy very lot
nare on 2nd Jul 2012, 3:13pm | Permalink
no no it's not chillara movie its really good movie for youth
Prince Khan on 2nd Jul 2012, 12:57am | Permalink
U:th is advancing towards crimes toooo fast coz of movies lyk dis..!!!!!!!!! worst movie of the century:@:@:@:@
mani on 30th Jun 2012, 5:56pm | Permalink
nice thought this is also a one way to know the atmosphpere of students
raja sekhar on 28th Jun 2012, 8:09pm | Permalink
mi andari comments chala bagunnai .. i enjoyd it
wexed telugu audion. on 25th Jun 2012, 11:53am | Permalink
negetive ragings iche option vunte bagunnu.
torture movie, message ivalanukunadi correct ga prasent cheyaledu, Asalu movie motham theyadam aipoyaka... release ki mundu oka sari kooda veelu movie play chesi chooskora? movie bagunda leda? release cheyocha leda? ilanti questions valla burralo ki rada? burra thakuva edavalantha movie thesthe ilane vuntundi.
Praveen Kumar on 24th Jun 2012, 9:23pm | Permalink
of course it is not possible to watch this movie with family..
but there is no vulgar exposing in this movie..
and nice message in this movie for the students..
dokka dinesh on 20th Jun 2012, 4:48pm | Permalink
nenu enka cinema ne chudaledhu
Deepasbiggestfan on 20th Jun 2012, 12:42am | Permalink
Hats off to Deepa for having the guts to watch such crap! I am a huge fan of Deepa's 1.0 reviews! Keep up the good work!
sagatu cinema audience on 19th Jun 2012, 1:33pm | Permalink
critics meeku andalisindi andaledu kavachhuu...............pichhi cinemalaku full rates .......manchi cinemalaku 0 rate ...............mathhaniki neenu cheppedi emitanate .........ee movieee kevvuu keeka
1 - 15 OF 20 COMMENTS  |  NEXT  |  LAST
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Oka Romantic Crime Katha!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
This page was tagged for
oka boy oka girl love story sms
Oka Romantic Crime Katha telugu movie
Oka Romantic Crime Katha reviews
release date
Sai Anil, Manoj Nandam
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.