Tuesday, 18 September 2018 »  Login
in
»
Movies » Sammohanam Movie Review
I am at

Sammohanam Review

Sammohanam
Swaroop Thotada / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
7.5
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
8.5
6.5
7.5
8.0
Suggestions
Can watch again
Yes
Good for kids
Yes
Good for dates
Yes
Wait to rent it
No
Indraganti's Sammohanam is not only audacious enough to slow down all too often, it also earns its right to do so. For it doesn't inch forward at a snail's pace simply to fill time but explores its characters' nuances. There is a key scene in the movie's first hour where the lead pair talk leisurely about their lives on a terrace, late in the night, and time is virtually suspended as the director shows his complete defiance of any norms that would hold back a lesser film, and goes on to weave the magic he so desperately wants to. After all, for a film named "Sammohanam", an intoxicating superlative, such magic is very much warranted.

And there are many such moments in Sammohanam that can be termed magical, thanks to the lead pair who masterfully inhabit their characters rather than just reinvent them to their convenience. Sammohanam is the film that cements Sudheer Babu and Aditi Rao Hydari as fine actors that directors can bank on for arresting performances. However, Indraganti chickens out in the middle to please everyone, and we are left with a movie which could have been the best romcom of recent times but ends up being merely a decent entertainer.

Vijay (Sudheer Babu) is an illustrator of children's books, and is so in love with his profession that any other art form is just a disreputable exercise in playing to the galleries. He is vocal of his disdain for films and filmy people, much to the aggravation of his father Sarveswara Rao (Naresh) whose veins if cut would spill out movie dialogues. Rao's delusions of grandeur and his futile hopes of being an Indian counterpart to Brando provide many laughs, and Naresh aces the funny parts.

Vijay's mother Anasuya (Pavitra Lokesh) is a freelance caterer, and his sister Divya (Harshini) is a Bharathanatyam enthusiast.

When a film crew wants their house for shooting, an overwhelmed Naresh promises to let them use it for free for twenty days. Vijay predictably despises the crew initially but warms up to them later. Enters Sameera (Aditi Rao Hydari) into the house as the heroine, and the love story ensues.

Humour is the leitmotif of the film and also the director's vehicle to launch his thinly veiled digs at the film industry's obsession with north-Indian actors and their broken Telugu. Indraganti unleashes his inner purist and leaves no opportunity to mock all things non-Telugu. However it isn't ironic that a film that stresses so much on the right way to pronounce Telugu has its heroine speaking broken Telugu all along because that itself is the story. Vijay ends up shouldering the responsibility of teaching Sameera the language, and she turns out to be a good student.

Hydari plays Sameera as a serene diva drenched in politeness and humility. She is seemingly fragile on the surface, and it is later revealed that she is fragile on the inside as well. This sensitive girl quickly like the sensible boy, and the actors ably portray the chemistry, which peaks in the aforementioned terrace scene. Sameera curiously digs into the initially deflecting Vijay, and he soon bares his hopeless romantic self. This is one of the best directed scenes in recent Telugu films, marked by the director so totally unapologetic of the silences between the dialogues. He rightly recognizes that the pauses are as important as the lines. And the sequence is wonderfully aided by the cinematography and editing that take the risks at the right places.

In another key scene where Vijay visits Sameera in Manali to pour his heart out, we see Indraganti at his best. There is not an over-the-shoulder shot or a wide shot - all are tight close-ups. It is a feat where the audiences are virtually put in the shoes of the other character when one is on the screen, and the cast and crew pull it off. Sameera discovers that Vijay is as fragile as her and is too guilty of hurting him, and Vijay in turn feels guilty of making her guilty, and not one twitch of the eye is lost in translation.

Perhaps it dawned upon Indraganti in the second half that this is a movie that has to make money, and he ditches all this midway. The story steals the conflict from the characters, and ends up being too convenient to be real. Films like these are best sticking to character studies and not getting bogged down by the mechanics of story-telling. However humour saves the day, and we aren't bored at least. Just a little disappointed that Sammohanam is just some-mohanam.

The story is a fairy tale: a glamour diva literally falling into the lap of a regular guy - isn't that everyone's daydream? However Indraganti makes it look plausible, and scores - partly at least. The supporting cast (Rahul Ramakrishna, Tanikella Bharani, Kadambari Kiran, Ajay Bethiganti) do a good job. Vivek Sagar's soundtrack is completely in tune with the film, and the songs are alright. And as a cherry on top, you get to listen to Tanikella Bharani narrating a children's story in the climax.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
SAMMOHANAM SNAPSHOT
Sammohanam (telugu) reviews
USER RATING
8.0
1 USER
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
  • Cast
    Sudheer Babu, Aditi Rao Hydari, Tanikella Bharani, Naresh, Pavitra Lokesh
  • Music
    Vivek Sagar
  • Director
    Mohana Krishna Indraganti
  • Theatres
    Not screening currently in any theatres in Hyderabad.
TOP COMMENT
Swaroop Thotada on 18th Jun 2018, 10:08am | Permalink
Come on dude. Rain on the parade all you want. Yes there are a million things we can complain about. But I tend to evaluate a film based on what it promised and what it delivered. The title Sammohanam promises a lot of "class" and gloss, and a "feel-good" factor (If I may borrow Telugu audiences' terminology) and it delivers it. Of course a lot of it looks fake and I learnt to live with it in the initial 5 minutes. What I focused on in my review is the way the material is executed and refrained from criticizing the material itself.
As I mentioned in my review itself, the story is an absolute fairytale and I felt all the excess is warranted.
When I watch Shoot Em Up I kind of get used to the fact that the fights are going to be over the top and get accustomed to the norms the film sets to itself. Its a nice trick to enjoy a variety of films, as long as the film doesnt break its own rules.
I am not dismissing your complaints. Just sharing my points.
4
0
SAMMOHANAM USER REVIEWS
1 - 6 OF 6 COMMENTS
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
8.0
1 USER
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
NA
NA
NA
NA
Can watch again - NA
Good for kids - NA
Good for dates - NA
Wait to rent it - NA
Veturi Sarma on 18th Jun 2018, 7:48am | Permalink
First of all, I have to say that this is such a beautiful review, one I wish I could have written but I really wonder if the film deserves such a review. Good filmmakers like Indraganti seem to get away with a lot of inconsistencies and screenwriting choices arising from sheer laziness, but in my opinion they are the ones that should be held more accountable and expected to respect screen time.

Working from such a frankly ridiculous premise must be difficult, but Indraganti was the one who has come up with it and he has to live with it. Though the actors played off each other quite well, the situations they find themselves in were frankly too good to actually occur.

Coming to the piece-de-resistance of this film - ala the terrace scene. The overwhelming feeling was that it was all made up for them to go there and say the things and exchange the looks. The lead pair don't create the scene for themselves, everyone else practically move away and push them into it. As if to say, the clock is ticking, go ahead and coochicoo a bit coz we've named the damn thing as Sammohanam and we better make something to justify it. The terrace is beautifully lit, greenery, flowers, the breeze, everything is so flawless and fake that I can't imagine how anyone could maintain a terrace like that unless it was their job to do so. Or maybe the film crew have done it for them, but I can't imagine "Kummestaa" having a scene in it that would require such a setup. The craft was all there, music, cinematography, editing, direction, performances were effortlessly done yet the scene lacks soul because the lead actors didn't earn the moment. They haven't created that space for themselves. If I seem too critical about a film, I'd like to present Tholi Prema. When Anu comes to Balu's home, none of Balu's family push themselves away from the house and give any room to Balu and Anu that they don't deserve. Balu has to work within that space to impress her and Anu has to love him in that. He doesn't come exclusively. And the result for not taking audiences granted is that we remember the film fondly some 20 years later. Sammohanam wouldn't fare so well in my opinion.

For a film that tells that films show fake emotions and fake richness, Sammohanam goes ahead and proves it once again. Picture this. A Telugu Illustration book for kids getting a launch at Radisson attended by the leading Telugu film heroine. I'd love it if it happens, but I don't see it happening at all. That is Sammohanam in a nutshell.

And I haven't said anything about the deplorable second half at all.
Veturi Sarma on 18th Jun 2018, 7:53am | Permalink
Swaroop, I'm sorry if this seems like I'm raining on your parade, but I have to get this rant out of my head once and for all.
Swaroop Thotada on 18th Jun 2018, 10:08am | Permalink
Come on dude. Rain on the parade all you want. Yes there are a million things we can complain about. But I tend to evaluate a film based on what it promised and what it delivered. The title Sammohanam promises a lot of "class" and gloss, and a "feel-good" factor (If I may borrow Telugu audiences' terminology) and it delivers it. Of course a lot of it looks fake and I learnt to live with it in the initial 5 minutes. What I focused on in my review is the way the material is executed and refrained from criticizing the material itself.
As I mentioned in my review itself, the story is an absolute fairytale and I felt all the excess is warranted.
When I watch Shoot Em Up I kind of get used to the fact that the fights are going to be over the top and get accustomed to the norms the film sets to itself. Its a nice trick to enjoy a variety of films, as long as the film doesnt break its own rules.
I am not dismissing your complaints. Just sharing my points.
Raghu M on 18th Jun 2018, 3:56am | Permalink
Absolutely. Some of the best romantic scenes in Telugu cinema in the recent times.
To some, the movie may be slow. To me, that's the best part of the movie.
And comedy is refreshing too. The 2nd innings of Naresh is amazing. He is proving to be the best so-called character artist in, for, from Telugu cinema.

Premalo thiyyadanam
Haasyamlo kothadanam
Maatalo churukudanam
Paatalo telugudanam
Natanalo nindudanam
Verasi.. Sammohanam!
Raghu M on 18th Jun 2018, 3:56am | Permalink
Absolutely. Some of the best romantic scenes in Telugu cinema in the recent times.
To some, the movie may be slow. To me, that's the best part of the movie.
And comedy is refreshing too. The 2nd innings of Naresh is amazing. He is proving to be the best so-called character artist in, for, from Telugu cinema.

Premalo thiyyadanam
Haasyamlo kothadanam
Maatalo churukudanam
Paatalo telugudanam
Natanalo nindudanam
Verasi.. Sammohanam!
Swaroop Thotada on 17th Jun 2018, 6:07pm | Permalink
Yes Hari. The supporting cast did a very good job. RRK, PavitraLokesh and even Kadambari Kiran. The sister is a little sprightly but likeable. Perhaos I wont like her if meet her in real life, but onscreen, alright :)
Hari on 16th Jun 2018, 8:54pm | Permalink
>>>
Films like these are best sticking to character studies and not getting bogged down by the mechanics of story-telling.
>>>
Yes Swaroop that whole part of trying to explain things just stuck like a sore thumb in an otherwise mesmerising experience. They could have opted for a more believable back story. BTW Rahul Ramakrishna was a riot though and Pavithra Lokesh has got a great role too and I thought she did very well.

-Hari.
Hari on 16th Jun 2018, 10:07am | Permalink
Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Always liked Indraganti Mohanakrishna's work(AMAT is still my favorite among his films). His writing is always spot on. Comedy comes natually to him. Digs at film industry are spot on. Naresh was brilliant. Comparision to Notting Hill should just be limited to the basic concept..Makers did acknowledge Richard Curtis though. Overall a pleasant experience.

-Hari.
RATING
8
Ben Affleck on 15th Jul 2018, 3:45pm | Permalink
Does Richard Curtis knows that they acknowledged his work?? They should have paid him to make him know.....
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Sammohanam!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
sammohanam telugu
Sammohanam telugu movie
Sammohanam reviews
release date
Sudheer Babu, Aditi Rao Hydari
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.