Wednesday, 18 October 2017 »  Login
in
»
Movies » Spyder Movie Review
I am at

Spyder Review

Spyder
Josh / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
6.5
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
7.0
6.0
4.0
8.0
Suggestions
Can watch again
No
Good for kids
No
Good for dates
Yes
Wait to rent it
No
We are of the opinion that Mahesh Babu's most expensive film (said to have costed around Rs. 125 crores) freaked out some-important-body at some-unfortunate-time following which they decided that it was not prudent/viable to spend more money and more time on the film. And so we end up with an under-packaged Dassara gift.

Under-packaged because the film fails to satisfy some of the basic requirements of a Dassara release. There's not a song that will stick in your head or make you shake a leg in the next wedding you attend. There's not a punchline that fans can repeat for no reason and enjoy themselves with. There's very little of what's fondly called 'hero elevation' - for example, Mahesh Babu has no fancy theme music. This becomes all the more conspicuous due to a line in the first song which goes 'theme music akkarleni massy hero veedu' (what nonsense - does there exist such a thing as a 'theme music akkarleni mass hero'?).

And, sadly, the climax is likely to make you feel 'is that it?'. The sub-par CGI is also a culprit.

But, however under-packaged it might be, Murugadoss's thriller is nevertheless a Dassara gift. We may not be entertained by the songs but we're involved enough to wait for the song to get done and the story to begin again. We may not have a punchline to hang on to but the hero is thankfully not pouting blatant hogwash in the name of heroism. There's little hero elevation maybe, but hey, we have some serious build-up for the villain. Now, that's not just rare - it's gratifying.

So Intelligence Bureau's surveillance officer Shiva (Mahesh Babu) is a vigilante who taps into public phone calls scanning for distress and rescues the distressed. This leads him to a killer who is roughly as obsessed with sadism as Tamil cinema is obsessed with psychological disorders (both legitimate and made up). The ensuing cat-and-mouse game is written with some cleverness and social consciousness that's characteristic of Murugadoss' work.

It is precisely this cleverness and social consciousness that validates the film despite its shortcomings. Of the multiple times that the hero tackles the villain, there's one gleefully audacious stretch which involves a handful of housewives jumping gates and climbing walls. Utterly implausible as the conceit is, it's also richly satisfying to see a hero depend on ordinary people instead of the other way round.

Add to this Sreekar Prasad's capacity to find a film in footage and Santosh Sivan's ability to find a story in frames, and you'll find your ticket money's worth in there somewhere.

And it helps that Mahesh Babu can be a solid performer when his director asks for it. It's probably the first time since Arjun (way back in 2006) that he's playing someone who's neither incredibly wealthy nor irredeemably cocky. Shiva is written as an upper middle class guy who rises to the occasion of carrying out social duty - the sort that you see in Tamil films like Thupaki, Thani Oruvan (Dhruva in Telugu), Mudhalvan (Oke Okkadu) etc. It's enjoyable and refreshing to see him re-negotiate the terrain that he left over a decade back in pursuit of superstardom.

The remaining performances are no great shakes, though. Rakul Preet Singh as a horny medico is pleasant to watch but worries you each time she appears because that's the cue for a song. S J Suryah plays his sadist like he's a maniac who's watched The Dark Knight too many times. If you are not too particular about your film's psychology credentials you might still enjoy his menacing look.

Okay, now that we're kinda sorta done with discussing the movie, we feel compelled to bring up something that's been biting us since the film ended. You remember that teaser where a robotic spider crawls its way to Mahesh Babu's shoulders before he shushes it? You've seen it right? Well, that's not there in the film. No kidding. That arachnid automaton has no presence and, probably, no existence in the universe of Spyder. We have no idea how or why this happened, but if you like to speculate, you're welcome to read the first paragraph again.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
SPYDER SNAPSHOT
Spyder (telugu) reviews
USER RATING
1.0
1 USER
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
TOP COMMENT
Josh on 29th Sep 2017, 10:46pm | Permalink
Doesn't work like that, bro. I have two things for you consider -
a) Are you positively sure that there's nothing to criticise about what you think are good films? In my opinion, films are generally full of shit. We just watch the shit that works for us.
b) What's your objective when you magnanimously let people know that you think their taste is shit? What's that going to achieve? If you're only after a false sense of superiority then sure, carry on. If you want people to reflect on themselves and their choices then I recommend you start with reflecting on yourself and your own choices and try (very hard) to understand why other people are different. And then, articulate your reflection as to why you think your choices are more appropriate according to you. You may not change people but you at least get them to listen that way. And always be ready and willing to change your own opinion if you find/ or someone points out a a legitimate flaw with it.
5
1
SPYDER USER REVIEWS
1 - 11 OF 11 COMMENTS
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
1.0
1 USER
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
NA
NA
NA
NA
Can watch again - NA
Good for kids - NA
Good for dates - NA
Wait to rent it - NA
Josh-II on 15th Oct 2017, 2:20pm | Permalink
@Josh-
1.Are you positively sure that there's nothing to criticize about what you think are good films?

Good films are those which are qualified for criticism. Shitty films are those which are unworthy of watching. Hence, the central question is are there any films worth criticizing about here??

2.In my opinion, films are generally full of shit. We just watch the shit that works for us.

No. Films are not shit. A shit is something that falls below an intuitive benchmark and which is totally inconsumable, which doesn’t work in anyway.

3. What's your objective when you magnanimously let people know that you think their taste is shit? What's that going to achieve?

The objective is to let them know that they are celebrating and watching shit. Nothing else. It’s not about making them achieve something. It’s reminding them about what they failed to achieve i.e. a good taste.

4.If you're only after a false sense of superiority then sure, carry on.

It’s not false sense of superiority. It’s utter sense of clarity.

5. If you want people to reflect on themselves and their choices then I recommend you start with reflecting on yourself and your own choices and try (very hard) to understand why other people are different and then, articulate your reflection…..…..

What should I understand? Do I have to compare NTR’s Superman with Christopher Reeve’s Superman or Man of Steel and discuss merits and demerits of both??????? What can we make of a cinema and its audience, which even after 70 years of making movies is content to call idiotic folklore called ‘Maya Bazaar’ a ‘classic’ and the sophomoric ‘Dangal’ a masterpiece???? ( I am articulating ‘my reflection’ here….)

6.…… as to why you think your choices are more appropriate according to you.

That’s quite arrogant of you to so casually simplify what is a good taste. Do I have to think so hard to realize my choices are ‘appropriate’?? When you have eyes you see, when you have ears, you hear. The physical experience of seeing and hearing are self-explanatory. I don’t have to wonder whether the experience of seeing is defined as such only ‘according to me’ simply because a blind man can see the black shade of the darkness. Being sighted negates but not compares with being blind. Something becomes according to somebody only when you are comparing two things which are up to an acceptable yardstick and vying for equality or superiority. For example, you can compare ‘too salty’ with ‘too sugary’ but you cannot compare them both with ‘too shitty’ although shit has a taste just as the darkness has a shade. A shit is simply not qualified to be compared with salt or sweet.

7.You may not change people but you at least get them to listen that way….

People listen what they want to listen. They change only when they are capable of changing. I don’t see any redemption for intellectually challenged indian audience in the near future. But, meanwhile, nevertheless, borrowing Jake Gyllenhaal’s line in Night Crawler, I want to say “I feel like grabbing people by both ears and yell at them “WHAT YOU ARE WATCHING IS SHIT“. Because by seeing what they see, by making what they make and made, they turned indian cinema, particularly south cinema, in to a vast barren land of non-art utterly starving genuine connoisseurs of even a morsel of true art and any hope of entertainment. Hence, my criticism here is more like a delirious groaning of a man subjected to a very long(interminably long) third-degree torture than that of somebody who wants to ‘reform’.

8.And always be ready and willing to change your own opinion if you find/ or someone points out a legitimate flaw with it….

So, after changing my opinions, upon being pointed out ‘vibrantly, very clearly and unequivocally’ legitimate flaws in them, what should I do???? Watch Spyder thrice and reach an orgasm watching Pokkiri???
JayZ on 2nd Oct 2017, 8:31pm | Permalink
That robotic Spyder crawled up Murugadoss' ass and bit him hard....
Josh on 1st Oct 2017, 3:50pm | Permalink
Guys, I've decided to attempt inktober wherein I try to do a sketch each day of this October. Since I have zero social media presence and most of my sketches are movie related, I figured I can share the stuff here.
Josh on 18th Oct 2017, 5:21pm | Permalink
Day 18. Prompt : Filthy.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/art/inktober-day18-filthy/
Josh on 17th Oct 2017, 10:25pm | Permalink
Day 17. Prompt : Graceful.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/cinema/telugu-cinema/inktober-day-17-graceful/
Josh on 16th Oct 2017, 6:32pm | Permalink
Day 16. Prompt : Fat.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/fiction/inktober-day16-fat/
Josh on 15th Oct 2017, 9:13pm | Permalink
Day 15. Prompt : Mysterious.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/art/inktober-day15-mysterious/
The Common Movie Goer on 16th Oct 2017, 7:37am | Permalink
My grandmother loves watching Marmadesam (Is it still on TV?)
Josh on 16th Oct 2017, 6:30pm | Permalink
This whole inktober thing is helping me revisit some of my personal favourites. Marmadesam is easily the most riveting stuff I've watched on Indian Television. Bomb stuff, really. I still remember when for the final episodes they suggested that kids rather not watch the disturbing climax and I kinda fought my mom to get to watch it anyway.
Josh on 14th Oct 2017, 9:22pm | Permalink
Day 14. Prompt : Fierce.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/art/inktober-day14-fierce/
The Common Movie Goer on 16th Oct 2017, 7:36am | Permalink
Looks like a panel straight out of a Manga! Great detailing.
Josh on 13th Oct 2017, 1:14pm | Permalink
Day 13. Prompt : Teeming.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/cinema/inktober-day13-teeming/
The Common Movie Goer on 16th Oct 2017, 7:35am | Permalink
This one's amazing. Looks exactly like Thalaiva!
Josh on 16th Oct 2017, 6:31pm | Permalink
Thanks, man :)
Josh on 12th Oct 2017, 10:36pm | Permalink
Day 12. Prompt : Shattered.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/cinema/inktober-day12-shattered/
Josh on 11th Oct 2017, 8:39pm | Permalink
Day 11. Prompt : Run.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/cinema/inktober-day11-run/
Josh on 10th Oct 2017, 10:41pm | Permalink
Day 10. Prompt : Gigantic.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/cinema/inktober-day10-gigantic/
Josh on 9th Oct 2017, 11:11pm | Permalink
Day 9. Prompt : Screech.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/art/inktober-day9-screech/
Josh on 8th Oct 2017, 9:20pm | Permalink
Day 8. Prompt : Crooked.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/cinema/inktober-day8-crooked/
Josh on 7th Oct 2017, 5:23pm | Permalink
Day 7. Prompt : Shy
Josh on 7th Oct 2017, 5:23pm | Permalink
http://www.allthatjosh.com/cinema/inktober-day7-shy/
Josh on 6th Oct 2017, 12:59pm | Permalink
Day 6. Prompt : Sword.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/cinema/inktober-day6-sword/
Josh on 5th Oct 2017, 1:31pm | Permalink
Day 5. Prompt : Long.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/art/inktober-day5-long/
Josh on 4th Oct 2017, 6:30pm | Permalink
Day 4. Prompt : Underwater.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/cinema/inktober-day4-underwater/
Josh on 3rd Oct 2017, 8:04am | Permalink
Day 3. Prompt : Poison.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/cinema/inktober-day3-poison/
Kishore on 3rd Oct 2017, 11:32am | Permalink
May not be getting the points all the time, but the capability to illustrate is impressive.
Josh on 3rd Oct 2017, 1:46pm | Permalink
The hope is the skill will pick up by the end of this month. If I go through with it, of course.

As always, thanks, Kishore :)
Josh on 2nd Oct 2017, 12:15pm | Permalink
Day 2. Prompt : Divided.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/cinema/inktober-day2-divided/
The Common Movie Goer on 2nd Oct 2017, 1:23pm | Permalink
These look great, Josh! How long did they take to draw? And what's the paper you are using (as in, why does it have those tiny holes)?

You should get Twitter. It's not very invasive. I can be your first follower.
Josh on 2nd Oct 2017, 11:07pm | Permalink
About fifteen minutes apiece, man. The paper is from a stack of small memos (smaller than A5) with grid dots (the holes) that I picked up from some Crossword. It's by some company called Yello. Pretty good stationery.

I'm just too wrapped up in a number of things man. No social media uncomplicates life for me.

And thanks!
Josh on 2nd Oct 2017, 12:18pm | Permalink
Thanks, Kishore :)
Josh on 1st Oct 2017, 3:50pm | Permalink
Day 1. Prompt : Swift.

http://www.allthatjosh.com/cinema/inktober-day1-swift/
Kishore on 2nd Oct 2017, 11:15am | Permalink
Impressive :)
Tarun on 1st Oct 2017, 6:51pm | Permalink
It's always a pleasure to read your writing. Thanks for linking your blog.
Josh on 2nd Oct 2017, 10:01am | Permalink
Pleasure's all mine. Thank you!
Usualsuspekt on 1st Oct 2017, 9:51am | Permalink
I think Murugadoss watched one episode of Person of Interest, a trailer of Snowden and a few Telugu serials to make Spyder.
Usualsuspekt on 30th Sep 2017, 8:08pm | Permalink
Disappointing review.
I always check Fullhyd review before watching any Telugu movie.Trust me.
The scene where the hero uses the 'help' of women climbilng the walls to apprehend the killer..I wouldn't expect the reviewer to say its a case of "hero taking the help of ordinary people".
I don't come to Fullhyd to see such views.
He is only a surveillance analyst yet shoots the gun and boy leads the operation risking ordinary untrained women to tackle a serial killer. While the rest of the cops are conspicuous by their absence.
Murugadoss ripped off Memento for Gazhni and to make this movie he needs to watch only one episode of Person of Interest.
Usualsuspekt on 30th Sep 2017, 7:56pm | Permalink
A serial killer is on the loose and women(likely age group 30-45+) go out in the middle of the night to knock on the neighbours doors basing on a phone call supposedly for a contest on TV.
Later they climb
That sums up this movie.
And I rest my case.
Arun on 30th Sep 2017, 2:54am | Permalink
Nice movie guys watch it u will enjoy guys
The Common Movie Goer on 29th Sep 2017, 1:14pm | Permalink
SPOILERS follow. Read at your own risk. Not that you should watch it anyway.

Josh! How could you? This was an unmitigated disaster. I doubt the film deserved even deserved a 1.0. Granted, I am a Common Movie Goer who loves Telugu cinema. It is probably the main reason I hated this Tamil dub. But I am also the guy who idolised Mahesh Babu and saw Pokiri 400 times (and still counting). What was he thinking when he signed up for this film? I loved Ghajini, Thupaki, and Khaidi 150 (not Kathi, haven't seen that film), but the only thing I hated about those films were innocent people dying (Asin, a bunch of people, and farmers in that order). This movie is the antithesis of those films. Strip out the entertainment, amp up the sadism/unseen gore to max levels, and expect people to regard this as good cinema. 30 minutes of the film in a graveyard, minors killing innocent villagers, construction workers in pillars...am I supposed to be entertained? I would in no way regard myself as someone with a soft stomach. I've seen way worse. This, however, is not what you expect from a MB film. I would definitely expect something like One Nenokkidane from him, that provoked me to think and kept me entertained in spite of its run time. Some scenes like the Z Telugu serial bit and the boulder scene just didn't make any sense and were cringe inducing.

This will go down as one of those Mahesh films which I will never ever ever watch a second time (Yuvaraju, Nani, Bobby, Brahmotsavam, Srimanthudu). I hope Bharath Ane Nenu will restore Mahesh to his glory and give us another classic that you can watch a million times and not get bored (Rajakumarudu, Okkadu, Athadu, Pokiri, Dookudu).
RATING
1
Josh on 29th Sep 2017, 9:40pm | Permalink
But I enjoy these films, bro. I'm watching it a second right now. And on the other hand, I walked out of Pokir in the first half itself (leaving my mum behind, that too).
Josh-II on 29th Sep 2017, 1:27pm | Permalink
If you are somebody who watched Pokiri 400 times and regard an atrocity called One Nenokkadine as something special, you are unfit to watch movies, period.
Portuguese Man-of-War on 29th Sep 2017, 8:11pm | Permalink
Pokiri was a pretty decent movie. And if you are against people having tastes different from yours, you are unfit to be posting comments.
Josh-II on 29th Sep 2017, 10:06pm | Permalink
IF the people have 'taste', you might be right. Dogs have taste too, they like shit(no offence, just example, forgive me), but would you call their 'taste' different???
Josh on 29th Sep 2017, 10:46pm | Permalink
Doesn't work like that, bro. I have two things for you consider -
a) Are you positively sure that there's nothing to criticise about what you think are good films? In my opinion, films are generally full of shit. We just watch the shit that works for us.
b) What's your objective when you magnanimously let people know that you think their taste is shit? What's that going to achieve? If you're only after a false sense of superiority then sure, carry on. If you want people to reflect on themselves and their choices then I recommend you start with reflecting on yourself and your own choices and try (very hard) to understand why other people are different. And then, articulate your reflection as to why you think your choices are more appropriate according to you. You may not change people but you at least get them to listen that way. And always be ready and willing to change your own opinion if you find/ or someone points out a a legitimate flaw with it.
The Common Movie Goer on 29th Sep 2017, 2:30pm | Permalink
I understand One wasn't received well by most, but c'mon, Pokiri is an amazing movie. There's a reason it was a blockbuster in so many languages and made a ton of money. There's something really likeable about that movie. Calling me unfit to watch movies is a little harsh, don't you think. Either way, did you like Spyder, "Josh"-II?

Just in case you are new to Fullhyd, we express pretty strong opinions on this website to get some discussion going. No offense intended, and no offense taken. Peace!
Josh-II on 29th Sep 2017, 10:12pm | Permalink
Is Pokiri an amazing movie????? I am scratching my head. But your cool head is amazing. I like it.

Did I like Spyder?? I don't know(actually pretty sure it is bad). I almost never watch Telugu movies. But unfortunately I watched both Pokiri and 1-Nenokkadine, that too in a theater.......
Chaitu on 29th Sep 2017, 5:40am | Permalink
Mahesh played the role of middle class guy in Khaleja and SVSC too.
Josh on 29th Sep 2017, 9:37pm | Permalink
Been a while since Gpsk, Chaitu. Missed your comments.

Anyway, he plays a cabbie in Khaleja. Now, given a director who insists that an ex-naxalite making a pittance of a PhD stipend lives on prime real estate, it's understandable if you forget that your average cabbie doesn't make average income.

At any rate, my contention was to do with being incredibly wealthy or irredeemable cocky. That one scene in SVSC where Mahesh Babu legitimises eve teasing or later that other scene where he invokes Einstein to create a new world with better women (or some such tripe I would gladly forget) are heavily on the cocky side.

Somewhere in the last two decades we have convinced ourselves that being heroic has a lot to do with being mean. To the heroine or to the comedian or even to the villain - basically anyone who's lesser than the hero. And then sell the 'goodness' of the hero with token gestures to some 'good' people. In this understanding of heroism we've altogether let go of the relatability factor.
Kanye on 28th Sep 2017, 1:32am | Permalink
After I watched the trailer, I was sort of underwhelmed. But I kept thinking 'oh, they probably keeping a lot of the movie secret. I haven't seen that robot spider.' Now, reading this, I am so disappointed.

But, I'll still shamelessly catch this movie this weekend. Ugh, what I got to do for a Mahesh movie.
Shiva on 27th Sep 2017, 11:41pm | Permalink
Well, Mahesh did clarify in his recent interview that the robotic spider was only for the teaser and wouldn't appear in the movie (and probably is the reason for your first statement)
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Spyder!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
telugu gun.comspyder
fullhyd spyder
Spyder telugu movie
Spyder reviews
release date
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.