Wednesday, 29 March 2017 »  Login
in
»
Movies » Winner Movie Review
I am at

Winner Review

Winner
Josh / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
5.0
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
7.0
3.0
4.0
8.0
Suggestions
Can watch again
No
Good for kids
No
Good for dates
No
Wait to rent it
Yes
Jagapathi Babu lives alone with a dyed beard and his son (Babu's son, not the beard's - that would be too interesting a story). He has a dad, Mukesh Rishi, and you know he's Babu's baap because his moustache is more fake than Babu's beard colour.

Now there's a reason why Babu lives away from his dad. That could be because he was wondering how Rishi, who's only 5 years older, could be his dad. But no, he lives away from his dad because he married Kalyani against his dad's wishes. Now, Kalyani, collecting her slim paycheque for this role, has died, leaving Babu to his dyed beard.

Mukesh Rishi's horse-racing company is tanking. He needs his son back because Jagapathi Babu was a hero until a few years back and therefore can be cast as a horse-riding father of the hero. So Rishi brings back Babu and his son. Except, he doesn't want his son. We mean, he wants his son, of course. He just doesn't want his son's son. So he convinces his son's son that his father (the son's son's father - that would be Jagapathi Babu FYI) doesn't love him anymore. Also he tells the kid that Babu is eyeing marrying Sonia Agarwal because she, too, had been a heroine until a few years back and thus would be a recognisable face even if no one would remember when they saw her last.

Anyway, Rishi's conspiracy works and his son's son runs away from the house into the title card.

Twenty years pass. And an amazing inevitable thing happens - Babu gets his grey beard back! And everyone heaves a sigh of relief and cheers on.

Another inevitable thing also happens. Someone reminds Sai Dharam Tej (or maybe he thought of it himself) that Chiranjeevi is his meternal (we got the spelling from SDT's wiki page - don't kill the messenger) uncle. And that Pawan Kalyan is also his uncle. His other uncle Naga Babu also dabbled in some films. Why, even his own cousins have starred in films. Now that means, he, too, should be starring in his own films. Not able to find a flaw in this logic, SDT comes on to the screen a couple of minutes after the title card with a lengthier title for himself which goes something like Supreme Mega Power Stylish Legend (scratch that - that's the other family, isn't it?) Epic Glorious... and some such Hero.

Soon Anasuya is instructed to speak in English and strut her stuff, which she does admirably well. So you wonder why she isn't yet cast as a heroine - after all, she looks pretty, acts pretty decently, and even speaks Telugu. And then you remember she isn't from Bombay or Delhi. Meanwhile, director Gopichand Malineni ushers in Rakul Preet Singh who IS from Delhi and struts her stuff a tad better than Anasuya does.

Aside from stuff-strutting, Singh is reminded that she has other duties to perform - which would be getting harassed by the hero and a comedian (Prudhvi, whose 30 years experience in the industry appear to land him only spoofy roles like "Singham Sujatha").

The "comedy" and the "romance" move like clockwork. When we say clockwork, we mean it - it happens mechanically and you don't pay much attention to it unless you're just trying to check if it's time yet.

Just when you check the time for like the 79th time, you are introduced to the villain who is instructed to speak Telugu and strut his stuff. The villain is a certain Thakur Anoop Singh who was recently seen in Singam III. Yup, he is the long-maned bloke who, while aboard on a plane, is pumping iron in his underwear. We mean, he is in his underwear, not the iron. Not that we know anything about iron in his underwear, you know. We categorically deny commenting anything about it.

Now, being the villain, he has additional duties like Murder. So he promptly murders people. And Telugu.

Sticking out like a sore thumb in all this mess is Chota K Naidu whose cinematography is absolutely top-notch making every frame beautiful and, thus, bearable. However, Thaman commits no such sacrilege, and provides music that is as forgettable as the film itself.

See, there's so much more of such originality and excitement in Winner and we would love to tell you all about it. Except, we don't. So, yeah, bad luck. You might have to check it out in the cinemas yourself.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
WINNER SNAPSHOT
Winner (telugu) reviews
USER RATING
0.0
0 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
  • Cast
    Sai Dharam Tej, Rakul Preet Singh, Jagapathi Babu, Mukesh Rushi, Anasuya, Thakur Anoop Singh, Master Charith, Vennela Kishore, Pruthvi, Ali, Raghu Karumanchi, Adarsh Balakrishna, Kalyani, Hariteja, Raghubabu Etc
  • Music
    Thaman S S
  • Director
    Gopichand Malineni
  • Theatres
    Not screening currently in any theatres in Hyderabad.
TOP COMMENT
The Common Movie Goer on 25th Feb 2017, 4:30am | Permalink
OK, Josh was definitely on substance this time. Fantastic review. He is always really good, but there is no way he wrote this in full consciousness. The only other explanation would be that he hated this movie to the core and walked out with a scrambled brain, but the rating doesn't suggest that. Ala Sherlock, I deduce some banned substances were at play here.

Must state, I am very disappointed though. I had huge expectations for the movie, just like I always do. Feel really bad when telugu movies bite the dust. As an audience, I want the industry to churn out good content. But then, Josh and I differ on several movies, so I'll watch the movie anyway. I loved Khaidi 150 (save for the stupid comedy track) and GSPK very much. Huge fan of SDT, the guy's got every department covered including comedy. As a common movie goer, I believe this is a common denominator movie, and I should therefore end up liking it. I don't think it Thakur Singh who dubbed for himself, it feels like the guy who dubs for Sonu Sood, or it could be Hemachandra.
7
0
WINNER USER REVIEWS
1 - 7 OF 7 COMMENTS
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
JayZ on 26th Feb 2017, 7:50pm | Permalink
The budget for an overseas song shooting of such movies can fund nice offbeat movies like pellichoopulu....wonder why there are very few takers for such " small movies" why producers que up for winners and badshahs
Portuguese Man-of-War on 26th Feb 2017, 5:11pm | Permalink
Such reviews cater only to those out here who care for literary value. The rest of (the 99% of) us want a simply-worded point of view on the film. For example, there isn't anything here about Tej's performance. You should figure out a way to impress all of us, too. And I think that is more difficult. This site used to do funny reviews long back that appealed to everyone - simple language but innovative thinking.
The Common Movie Goer on 26th Feb 2017, 6:10pm | Permalink
Yeah, I did expect this review to be a highly polarizing review, I personally loved it but my brother, who generally has the same tastes as I do, did not. But you have to admit that Josh addressed everything. This review is a semi-sarcastic take on modern pop-culture and lingo where eloquence has gone down the drain. Especially with the nonsensical hashtags on social media. Not disagreeing with you, but I personally think this is a great review.
The Common Movie Goer on 25th Feb 2017, 4:30am | Permalink
OK, Josh was definitely on substance this time. Fantastic review. He is always really good, but there is no way he wrote this in full consciousness. The only other explanation would be that he hated this movie to the core and walked out with a scrambled brain, but the rating doesn't suggest that. Ala Sherlock, I deduce some banned substances were at play here.

Must state, I am very disappointed though. I had huge expectations for the movie, just like I always do. Feel really bad when telugu movies bite the dust. As an audience, I want the industry to churn out good content. But then, Josh and I differ on several movies, so I'll watch the movie anyway. I loved Khaidi 150 (save for the stupid comedy track) and GSPK very much. Huge fan of SDT, the guy's got every department covered including comedy. As a common movie goer, I believe this is a common denominator movie, and I should therefore end up liking it. I don't think it Thakur Singh who dubbed for himself, it feels like the guy who dubs for Sonu Sood, or it could be Hemachandra.
The Common Movie Goer on 26th Feb 2017, 6:22pm | Permalink
I just saw this movie. As expected, I don't have any negative things to say about the movie and I would say I liked it. The stalking angle wasn't great, but Sigham Sujatha had two moments where I burst out laughing (short-lived but laugh worthy). SDT is only improving with every movie, and this is no exception. I hope he manages to become the true mass entertainer he is capable of becoming within his next couple of films. Since I love Tollywood so much, I loved the references to the Mega family, but it can get grating for those in the anti-nepotism camp. SDT can truly mimic PK and Chiru like no other. I hope he begins dancing again like he did in Rey. Don't know why he is holding back. Mukesh Rishi's role doesn't create an impact, and Dhritharashtra is your generic token villain.

The true star of the movie is Jagapathi Babu. He doesn't have much to do but his presence makes you want to root for him. He owns the frames he is in and brings a dignified gravitas to his character. I don't think much of his role in Legend, but he's been really good in all his other roles.

If you are on the fence and have a lot of time and some money to spare, I would recommend watching it. If you have other entertaining options, you might walk away with the feeling that time could have been better spent elsewhere. I usually have extreme opinions of things, but I am going with a middling 6.0 out of 10.0. Go with minimal expectations, and you'll walk away satisfied. Nothing earth shattering in this one.
Varun on 25th Feb 2017, 4:22am | Permalink
I don't care for the movie...but the review is truly terrible...the guy should find a proper career and full Hyd must hire a reviewer who doesn't talk nonsense...our movies have enough nonsense already.
Srinivas on 25th Feb 2017, 1:26am | Permalink
Hilarious review...
conn3 on 24th Feb 2017, 11:41pm | Permalink
http://movies.fullhyderabad.com/balupu/telugu/balupu-movie-reviews-5505-2.html

Thank you, you partially contributed to this disastrous movie to be made. If only Raviteja was the hero you would have recommended this to everyone again.
The Common Movie Goer on 25th Feb 2017, 4:22am | Permalink
Hey, lay off Deepa Garimella, OK? She was the original master reviewer before the other legends of fullhyd came along.Her 1.0-3.0 rated reviews are downright hilarious. Quite frankly, Balupu was highly entertaining save for Anjali's un-telugu-heroinish act (don't ask what it means, I don't know myself). Deepa was infamous for her love for Ravi Teja, and people would read it with that bias in mind, so it's all good.

Fullhyd, you should get her to guest review occasionally, it'll be fun.
usualsuspekt on 28th Feb 2017, 3:23pm | Permalink
i miss DG too.
Does she review elsewhere?
The current crop is good but we are not looking for good, are we?
Deepa G on 2nd Mar 2017, 9:40pm | Permalink
Thanks for the love, you guys
Kanye on 24th Feb 2017, 11:12pm | Permalink
Damn. You ripped every one of them apart.
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Winner!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
winner movie telugu
telugu winner movie
winner telugu movie
winner telugu review
winnertelugu movies online
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.