Sunday, 19 May 2019 »  Login
in
»
Movies » Devdas Movie Review
I am at

Devdas Review

Kiran Nadella / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
7.0
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
NA
NA
NA
NA
Suggestions
Can watch again
NA
Good for kids
NA
Good for dates
NA
Wait to rent it
NA
D se Dil (Soul) + D se Deewanapan (Passion) + D se Dard (Pain) + D se Daaru (Liquor) = Sanjay Leela Bhansali's D-D-D-D-Devdas, plainly the most expensive Indian movie ever made at Rs. 52 crores. Now, if by any chance you are thinking "Ae shaane... Hata saawan ki ghata (I don't care about it much) aur bas itna bata ki aakhir mein Devdas tapakta ki nahin?", then for you Mr. Tapori Bhai, the answer is "Yes". For the rest of ladies and gentlemen, here's the flick.

"Devdas" sets into motion with a jaw-droppingly picturesque palace,

and no wonder it is the humble dwelling of Devda. In no time the ambience splits open with joy and energy - Kaushalya (Smita Jayakar) is wild with excitement that her son Devdas (Shah Rukh Khan) is returning home after ten years in London. Devda's back in India.

Begin sizzling love between Devda and cute Paro (Aishwarya Rai). Alas, but the course of true love is never smooth... Devda's parents put up an objection to their love and marriage. Worried about the consequences, Paro plans to elope with Devda, but the idea only results in the humiliation of Paro by Devda's parents.

Furious, Devdas leaves home and then writes to Paro, asking her to forget him as their marriage might destroy his family. Devastated, Paro gives in to her mother's pleas for a marriage elsewhere.


Paro's marriage shatters Devdas. He turns to liquor and a brothel dancer Chandramukhi (Madhuri). Even though at first he turns her away, increasingly he begins to like her. Later on he admits his love for Chandramukhi. But liquor takes its toll on Devdas and he kicks the bucket, still yearning for the love of Paro.

The performances by Aishwarya and Madhuri are first-rate. They are totally engrossed in their characters. Shahrukh somehow manages to re-establish himself as a t-t-t-talented artiste. Jackie's character in the movie appears to be pointless, though. The choreography by Birju

Maharaj's leaves you awestruck. And the plush settings by Nitin Desai are stunning and simply superb.

Devdas is a lengthy but classic silver-screen rendition of the sweetness of first love and sincerity of true love, and is derived from a novel by Sharat Chandra Chattopadhyay of the same name. Shah Rukh and Aishwarya play the lovers with a sincerity that is not only appealing but refreshing in this era of raunchy and raw movies. It is recommended only to the patient and the non-taporis.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
DEVDAS SNAPSHOT
USER RATING
5.8
327 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
DEVDAS USER REVIEWS
1 - 15 OF 23 COMMENTS  |  NEXT  |  LAST
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE  |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
5.8
327 USERS
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
NA
NA
NA
NA
Can watch again - NA
Good for kids - NA
Good for dates - NA
Wait to rent it - NA
Rajesh Naidu on 22nd Jul 2002, 5:29pm | Permalink
kiran ki baat chodo are sabi ko yahi lagaya hai?..O.A.
RATING
2
Sekhar on 22nd Jul 2002, 5:27pm | Permalink
i think kiran kher has recently returned from a film institute.what an action, mind blasting.
RATING
2
Raj on 18th Jul 2002, 6:51pm | Permalink
money wasted of nothing.
RATING
2
Wajid on 18th Jul 2002, 6:49pm | Permalink
boring movie.
RATING
2
Sara on 18th Jul 2002, 6:48pm | Permalink
well its nothing.
RATING
2
* * on 18th Jul 2002, 6:45pm | Permalink
simply dumb movie.worst of its cost.needless settings.sleepy songs.aish looks aged.over action by every actor/actress.saving factor is.. nothing.
RATING
2
Rajesh Reddy on 17th Jul 2002, 10:58pm | Permalink
The movie sucked big time. I think it's time for Shah Rukh to hang up his gloves
RATING
2
Mrs Vas on 16th Jul 2002, 11:18pm | Permalink
Movie chuusi Nenu DASH (Vanthi vanthi...) chesukunna....
RATING
2
811 on 16th Jul 2002, 11:17pm | Permalink
I think SRK is gone mad... doing this movie.. I walked out of the theatre after 45mins...
SRK please stop giving such stale performances...
RATING
2
Kaka on 16th Jul 2002, 11:16pm | Permalink
Super Duper FLOP...
RATING
2
Rev on 16th Jul 2002, 11:15pm | Permalink
It was very hard to give that SINGLE star too.... Bandal movie
RATING
2
Sarita P on 16th Jul 2002, 7:27pm | Permalink
I think Kiran Nadella developed a soft corner for teh 52 crore budget movie or he must be a hardcore fan of Aishwarya. Otherwise he would have been very truthful about the movie. How come there are no comments for such a lousy movie with so much hype like you guys normally do? Yes the movie is a visual treat but NO the audience would want more . And how about we say we need performances? Aishwarya Rai am sure made all the audiences cry but not by moving them. It made me cry for spending my quality time not to mention the money just to see her emote so lousyly. And about Sharukh Khan the less said teh better it is,I wonder why Sanjay Bansaali and the performers in the movie never watched the Dilip Kumar Version of this story. Am sure if they had they would have spent atleast 10% of their time to improve their performance and just not look beautiful onteh screen. I still prefer AwaraPagal Deewana movie to this lavishious Devdaa version. Atleast we had Paresh Rawal in that movie who I can say was ultimate and thats what I call it a performance. NO matter how lousy the script is you leave a mark!. This movie a total disappointment and SUCKS big time!. Am sure most of Sharukhs fans and Aishwarya'sfans might not agree but let me tell you I have nothing against them. Ask yourselves truely if you really liekd their performance?? If I were you I would avoid watching the movie!!!!!!
RATING
2
ASDF ASDF on 16th Jul 2002, 11:15am | Permalink
What happened to the other readers comments for devdas ? There were quite a few yesterday. Good work fullhyd.com, delete stuff not very appetising.
RATING
2
ABCK ABC on 16th Jul 2002, 9:23am | Permalink
Ek dam bakwaas movie. Agreed the costumes and the settings were GRAND, was a feast to eyes in other words bt when it comes to Performances, awful! Don watch this movie with great expectations. Theres too much hype attached to it and would prefer the old DEVDAS (Dilip Kumar waala) anytime!!!
RATING
2
Ashwini on 16th Jul 2002, 6:28am | Permalink
I used to be a die-hard Shahrukh fan ...until I saw Devdas..This one sucks BIG TIME !!!
RATING
2
1 - 15 OF 23 COMMENTS  |  NEXT  |  LAST
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Devdas!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
DEVDAS movie review
DEVDAS MOVIE REVIEW
Devdas hindi movie
Devdas reviews
release date
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.