Thursday, 24 April 2014 »  Login
in
»
Movies » Hrudayanjali Movie Review
I am at

Hrudayanjali Review

Kiran Nadella / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
1.0
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
NA
NA
NA
NA
Suggestions
Can watch again
NA
Good for kids
NA
Good for dates
NA
Wait to rent it
NA
Hrudayanjali's theme can be summed up into four lines uttered by the female protagonist:

Oohalalo korikalu...

Cheruvalo chelikadu...

Rammani nannu pilichadu...

Raanani raalenani palikanu...


Get it? Hrudayanjali is a depressing and pathetic story of a frigid female... Maya (Girija). Normally I wouldn't bother with this type of artsy-fartsy independent film, but since it was a depressing psychological film, I knew all I had to do was survive it, which at 126 minutes was not easy, let me tell you. And by the time you read half the review, when all I would have done is describe the plot, everybody and his grandmother would think, "No way! Kiran is making it up!"


Ok now, let's get started with the story... The movie begins with an interview of a celebrated actor Anand (Sanjay Mitra) by Maya. It is one of those magical moments when love is in the air and sappy music starts playing.

For some instinctive reason, for Anand the interview transforms the otherwise bratty Maya into a lovely goddess. By the next frame, they both are in unfathomable love.

Anand notices that for some mysterious reason, Maya, in spite of being in deep love with him, is not ready to marry him. Whenever he proposes marriage, she says that she is not eligible to marry him. One fine day she gives in to his pestering and tells him the facts of her life.


It's flashback. Maya is 16 years old and gorgeous. Back from school, one day she sees her uncle waiting alone for her at home. She doesn't figure out the reason for his anxiety, but I do. I could almost see his loins burning with desire. That night he pretty much forcibly bones her to his content, and in so doing embosses a cavernous scar in her mind.

Like any other broadminded freak would do, Anand offers to marry her. They marry. Then what? Then there is a series of letdowns for Anand, since Maya will not let him have her (why? remember the scar?). One fine day, after a major letdown, unable to bear the depression of not being able to offer herself to her lover-cum-husband, Maya commits suicide. THE END - of 1. Maya 2. The movie, and 3. My destitution.


Conclusion? You enter the theater hoping to see a jolly good movie that would rival Geetanjali. Instead, you find a film with its characters so uni-dimensional, you would think they were made from card and a screenplay so unpredictable that even a

cine pundit can't and won't guess what would happen next.

Mediocre would be a superlative to describe Girija's performance. Inaccuracies in performances were glaring and downright insulting. Anyone expecting a good movie with a good dose of accomplished action should stay away.

Bottom line? If Hrudayanjali had meant "the desire to move to a remote island with a bottle of cyanide as your only friend", the movie fits the bill and succeeds beyond all expectation.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
HRUDAYANJALI SNAPSHOT
USER RATING
7.0
12 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
HRUDAYANJALI USER REVIEWS
1 - 11 OF 11 COMMENTS
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
7.0
12 USERS
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
NA
NA
NA
NA
Can watch again - NA
Good for kids - NA
Good for dates - NA
Wait to rent it - NA
sunitha on 15th Jun 2013, 4:04am | Permalink
Kiran Nadella, your language is very bad "broad minded freak?" The movie might have been badly done but the theme is good. You need some attitude change. We need to educate people about traumas faced by rape victims.
nithin on 17th Feb 2013, 4:49pm | Permalink
plzz post the movie link or torrent
Chandra Sekhar on 8th Jun 2006, 10:33pm | Permalink
I havent yet seen this movie...but i give this movie a rating of 4 stars jus because the director and the actors were bold enuf to dwell upon such a difficult topic(that too for a movie made in the early ninties).Telugu cinema needs more of such experimental stuff directed at niche audience rather than the tasteless 'masala' stuff its famous for churning out relentlessly.
RATING
10
Ravi on 26th Jun 2002, 11:50pm | Permalink
Not bad. It is different!
RATING
6
Surajee V on 25th Jun 2002, 1:25pm | Permalink
After reading Kiran's review, I think the movie even doesn't deserve this much. But I like his reviews;it's as good as my own opinion, only I haven't seen it and won't see possibly.
RATING
2
Satish Reddy on 24th Jun 2002, 7:56pm | Permalink
The movie dwells on the psychological scars induced on a rape victim. This is a very bold theme and the director and producer should be complimented for making such a different film. The movie is a not a routine masala movie.
RATING
8
Hyderabadi on 21st Jun 2002, 5:42am | Permalink
This movie is a totally different movie from the routine commercial stuff we get. The performace of Girija is laudable. It is very difficult to produce such subtle emotions and expressions. How many of our current crop of heroines can produce the stuff girija has produced? Regarding songs they are very melodious and soothing to the ear. Photography is excellent.
RATING
8
Kumar P on 20th Jun 2002, 7:05pm | Permalink
A good movie, in terms of photography, picturisation, action. Songs - very melodious and especially the song sang by Janaki is really marvelous.

However, this is definitely not a movie for them who wants "some entertainment, thrilling, suspense, stunt, love, sex, drama...".

It also some what shows "so called love" - but, it is not that of usual stuff. So i do not think it is a film for many. However, I want to buy this VCD (if it is available). and preserve it.

About Geetanjali action, performing sentimental, romantic, ... actions are not that great. But performing such a kind of "feelings" is very difficult and i really surprised for her performance.

It is difficult to perform such a kind of feelings as they come only at a person whom we like a lot. That is why a lot has been mentioned about Girija's performance. When she is crying it shows how helpless she is psychologically, when she is dreaming about her lover, it shows who much she loves. I do not think this kind of performance is that easy. That is why this has been awarded well and govt. excempted from tax.
RATING
8
P G Kumar on 19th Jun 2002, 3:10pm | Permalink
As it relates to the psycological aspect of a gal, it must have added to the hearts of the people, ofcourse i care for it, but surely can out put that, this is not seems to be fully entertained movie though. Hope can have a time pass moderately.
RATING
4
Vinay Seth on 18th Jun 2002, 5:00pm | Permalink
Whoa! This guy seems to better and better! Good going Kiran.
RATING
2
Hyderabadi on 18th Jun 2002, 4:28am | Permalink
Thru movies the directors and producers are supposed to give something good to the society , not such good for nothing stuff.
RATING
2
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Hrudayanjali!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
hrudayajali telugu sex movie
hrudayanjali movie wiki
hrudayanjali movie heroine biography
hrudayanjali movie story
hrudayanjali 2002 telugu movie online
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.