Monday, 24 July 2017 »  Login
in
»
Movies » Show Movie Review
I am at

Show Review

Show
Usha Revelli / fullhyd.com
EDITOR RATING
8.0
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
NA
NA
NA
NA
Suggestions
Can watch again
NA
Good for kids
NA
Good for dates
NA
Wait to rent it
NA
Telugu cinema it appears has almost come of age. "Almost", because if it weren't that Manjula happens to be the daughter of a big star and has won a national award, her debut venture Show would have passed the silver horizon silent and unnoticed. That the filmmakers themselves are skeptical of people's response is evident in the choice of the theater. Mini Odeon, on the first day of the film, was just full, albeit with appreciative audiences.

It is such a relief to watch a film that actually has something called a screenplay and a sequence that logically builds up to a finale. Though the format has been tried and tested in other languages - mainly Hindi, Malyalam and Bengali -Show for most Telugu audiences can only be an experimental film, while the connoisseur would view it as a refreshing change from the routine.

How would two people, forced into each other's company, react to each other? Assuming that they are gregarious, how far does the interaction between the two develop? Manjula's Show explores these questions with a slickness and intelligence that are singularly absent in most other films. Riddhima (Manjula) and Madhav (Surya) separately reach a remote farmhouse for an appointment, but discover that the meeting is postponed by several hours. With no choice but to wait, they think up ways to entertain each other. And suddenly they stumble on life.

Madhav is an actor who is reduced to a nincompoop by a disgruntled wife who can never see him as anything more than a source of income. His longing for the dramatics inspires him to start play-acting with his acquaintance of a few hours. And, in the process, reveals the hurt and disillusionment that is etched deep in his heart. In a microcosm, we are all displaying our histrionics one way or the other. We are all actors, constantly acting out roles painted in various shades. The acting may get out of hand, the act can take a bizarre twist, and yet we may remain anchored to reality, unable to loosen the strings that pull us.

It is a pleasant irony that actor Krishna's daughter, who for decades has churned out run-of-the-mill films, should come out with a quality film. It is a movie that utilizes to the fullest extent possible, the attributes and faculties of the medium, without falling into a trap even once. Amazing, considering that our films are invariably in the pits.

Surya scores over his co-actor, due mainly to his enormous experience. It is a pity that this man's capabilities were never allowed to surface before. Manjula is a delight to watch, reminiscent occasionally of Amala, and evokes the hope that in due course she would be the fountainhead of some decent work in Telugu cinema.

Show belongs to the story-writer, to the director, to the actors, and finally to audience who can appreciate quality. If you are the kind who would choke on a story in a film, cannot do without at least half-a-dozen songs, suggestive dances, slapstick and innuendoes, please do not watch Show. For all others, it's a must.
Share. Save. Connect.
  EMAIL
  PRINT
  SAVE
SHOW SNAPSHOT
Show (telugu) reviews
USER RATING
8.9
70 USERS
RATE
Rating is quick and easy - try it!
SHOW USER REVIEWS
1 - 7 OF 7 COMMENTS
POSITIVE  |  NEGATIVE |  NEWEST  |  OLDEST  |  MOST HELPFUL  |  LEAST HELPFUL
USER RATING
8.9
70 USERS
Performances
Script
Music/Soundtrack
Visuals
NA
NA
NA
NA
Can watch again - NA
Good for kids - NA
Good for dates - NA
Wait to rent it - NA
Rao on 23rd Oct 2002, 5:21pm | Permalink
the film is excellent.
RATING
10
Suresh Mahadasa on 18th Oct 2002, 2:01pm | Permalink
i had seen the movie in venkatarama at amalapuram. really wonderful. i cannot believe a movie could do this. total cred1t goes to Mr. Neelakantam - also have to appreciate producer manjula...
RATING
4
Chetan Chowdhary on 25th Sep 2002, 11:19pm | Permalink
bezwada calling:

it isnt a complete movie--and could do with better editing,music and in purpose of the screenplay.but its a movie worth taking time out to see.

ok this is what Voltaire writes about plays--

the man of taste explained very well how a play could have some interest and almost no merit ; he proved in a few words that it was not enough to bring on one or two of those situations that u find in all novels and that always beguile the spectators.But that you have to be new without being bizarre, often sublime , and always natural, know the human heart and make it speak, be a great poet without letting any character in the play appear to be a poet, know the language perfectly, speak it with purity, with continual harmony, without ever rhyming at the expense of the sense.

my complaint is about the film's story.does the film want to potray a chance meeting or use it to exorcise the actor's inner demons.i would have liked it if the story could have tamed the shrew.instead it shifted gears and degenerated into the bizarre.
my initial empathy with the hero faded towards the end.who is he?--a boderline psycho,a loser.at the end i felt only pity and some revulsion towards him.
a story needs redemption--i look for hope/freedom at the end.the actors go through trails and come out changed.i dont think that happened in the story.

manjula has some nose.strange that she looks manly whereas her old man kittu always looked feminine.but power to her for being involved with such a project.
RATING
8
Rani Bassa on 19th Sep 2002, 10:01pm | Permalink
I had seen this film in odeon. I went into a spell. i cant believe a movie could do this. how could the story writer-neelakanta imagine this line? My respect for telugu films (which I lost some years back) has been revived after this wonderful Show. he defined direction-- you cant find a flaw.My best wishes to manjula and neelakanta . iam a movie buff. Show is film that people like me lookfoward to-- intelligent, sensitive, humorous, with intense human drama. we look forward for your films neelakantagaru.
RATING
10
Sanjana Reddy on 16th Sep 2002, 2:18pm | Permalink
beautiful movie
RATING
10
Ranjit on 16th Sep 2002, 1:37am | Permalink
What a lovely Face and beauty. Worth to watch Manjula and the movie.
RATING
10
Kiran Kumar on 14th Sep 2002, 11:09pm | Permalink
I watched this movie in our HYDERABAD FILM CLUB....it's rare to watch such a good movie in Telugu,as we usually watch such good movies in all other world languages........experimental, innovative, realistic....this film qualifies for all these adgectives.i appreciate Manjula for her guts to take such a project and also for her acting skills...you know this is her first film and you'll never feel that....and also Surya was at his best...my congratulations to him...and last, but not the least...Mr Neelakantam for his innovative idea and his presentation of the same....congrats to the team....i wish this nice film becomes a hit....so that it 'll pave way for some more better films in the future.
RATING
10
LEAVE A COMMENT
fullhyd.com has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Show!
Rate Movie
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, fullhyd.com allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
ADVERTISEMENT
SHOUTBOX!
ADVERTISEMENT
This page was tagged for
telugu movie showg
Show telugu movie
Show reviews
release date
Manjula, Surya
Follow fullhyd.com on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.